Weekly Update, July 15 2017

In which I talk about what I finished, what I started, extreme tonal shifts, guilt, and mascara-stained-pages.


I’m sorry, I’m a day late on this. I was way too exhausted yesterday to contemplate putting together a blog post. But that’s okay, right? It’s going to have to be.

Finished

imagesThe Hunchback of Notre Dame, By Victor Hugo

I had absolutely no idea what this book was going to be about when I started it last week. I have never seen the Disney version, or any other adaptation. I knew there was a hunchback named Quasimodo, and that’s all I knew.

The book started out very comedic with a lot of absurd and awkward situations that made me laugh out loud. But then about halfway through, the tone shifted, and I realised I needed to prepare for tragedy. I won’t give away any spoilers or anything like that, because I highly recommend you read this book, but I will say that everything was plotted very excellently, so that when all the pieces fell into place, the eventuality was obvious and inevitable. I always love an ending like that.

This book read very quickly. I found myself itching to get back to it every time I put it down. Because of that, plus the amount of action in this novel and the fact that Hugo restrained himself to only one really major digression, I would probably recommend it over my beloved Les Miserables as a good intro to Hugo’s writing style. It was a very enjoyable experience, even though it was really stressing me out towards the end.

Should’ve Read

Huckleberry Finn, By Mark Twain

I’ve been halfway through this book for perhaps a month now. I just can’t get fully into it for some reason—I think perhaps I’m just not in the right mood for it right now. I keep reading other things when I really just need to be finishing that one. One day soon I’ll just suck it up and finish. It worked with The Old Man and the Sea last week!

Re-Read

FullSizeRender (10)The Fault in Our Stars, By John Green

I don’t know why I would do this to myself after a long day at work, but on Thursday I decided to come home and spend my evening re-reading The Fault in Our Stars. I’ve probably read it three or four times, but this time—my word.

Many times when I say that I cried when I was reading a book or watching a movie, what I actually mean is that I got choked up and teary-eyed.

That’s not what I’m talking about this time. What I’m talking about is full-on, there-are-mascara-stains-in-my-book-now tears. Starting on pg. 259 and not really stopping until the end. I must be extra emotional right now for some reason because this book just absolutely destroyed me, whereas usually it just makes me sad in that pleasant kind of way.

Started(ish)

295360-MO Pioneers! By Willa Cather

I say “ish” because on Tuesday I finished The Hunchback of Notre Dame, then I started O Pioneers! on Wednesday, but then Thursday I re-read The Fault in Our Stars, and I have been too busy and exhausted to read since. Both last night and this evening, I opted to watch Netflix instead, which has become quite rare for me. But yeah, I got a few pages into this on Wednesday, and I like it so far.

And that’s all I really have to say this early in the game.


So that’s kind of it for this week. These weekly updates are helping me to see that I don’t really read that much at all. Eek. We’ll see how long I keep doing these, haha.

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

2 thoughts on “Weekly Update, July 15 2017

What are your thoughts?

