Basics of a Writer Tag

In which I answer a bunch of questions about being a writer.


This is a new tag created by the awesome AlexCharming, who kindly tagged me. Thank you, this looks like fun!

Rules:

  1. Link back to the original post and give credit to the creator (AlexCharming, of the blog Alex’s Charming Books)
  2. Thank the person who tagged you
  3. Answer the questions below
  4. Tag 5-20 other writers to do it
  5. Don’t be afraid to add your own questions if you have ’em!

Do you write better when listening to music?

Sometimes, but sometimes I need quiet. It depends. (I feel like we’re off to a bad start; it’s the first question and I’m already being vague…)

Do you have a “writing playlist”? Whats on it?

I create a new playlist for each novel I’m working on. I constantly add to it whenever a song makes me think of a character or a scene or just a feeling that I’d like to make sure gets in there. My current playlist has quite the variety: Keane, Mumford & Sons, The White Stripes, Death Cab for Cutie, and Saint Motel—to name just a few.

Where is your favorite place to write?

My desk. There was a coffee shop I used to go to on my lunch breaks at work, but it got quite expensive to go there multiple times a week, and furthermore, I suspected that I wasn’t being very productive.

Where do you find inspiration?

Anywhere. Everywhere. Historical documentaries, snatches of overheard conversation, other books…

And let’s not forget that vague yet classic (and safe) response: Life.

What is your favorite type of character death to write?

As I discussed in my last writing-related post,  many of my characters seem to fall prey to disease, whether it be in the main story of the novel or in the backstory.

Ideally, I’d like a death to be crushing. Obviously for the characters, but more importantly, for my readers.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

Whoever says they haven’t is a liar.

How do you deal with it?

I don’t know. Let me know if you do.

What was the worst story you ever wrote?

Any of the novels I wrote in middle school would do, but there was this one in particular that was especially heinous.

I created this enormous, sprawling cast of one-dimensional characters with hilariously improbable names, sent them all going in completely separate story-lines, then tried to very loosely wrangle them all together at the very end. The fact that most of the major characters didn’t meet until the end, but became extremely close friends the moment they did, was just one of the bizarre crimes against storytelling that I committed with that novel.

Do you prefer tea or coffee when your writing?

Both. Either. Doesn’t matter. If I’m writing in the morning, coffee. If the afternoon, tea.

Although that’s not a hard and fast rule.

What about snacks? Bitter or sweet?

Both. I like very dark chocolate.

When do you usually write best?

The deepest, most unearthly hours of the night.

Where do you go for help when you can’t find the right word?

First, I bang my head on the desk as though to dislodge it from the far reaches of my mind. When that fails, I tear my hair out, as though the word I seek might be clinging to the roots.

Then, I usually just go to Thesaurus.com, type in something similar, and click through synonym after synonym until I find what I’m after, or settle for something else.

Are you part of any writing groups? (Here’s mine @Teen Writers)

No.

Have you ever tried to write FanFiction?

Only in my head.

Was it any good?

I mean, it got me through the more boring stretches of my day back in highschool, so that’s good.

Are you a Planner or a Pantser? Maybe a little of both?

Little of both. I do EXTENSIVE work with my characters beforehand, and plan out my ending, but how I get there is flexible.

And finally- are you published?!

Sort of. After a fashion. And I don’t talk about that.


All right, that’s all for me! It’s my custom to leave this open, so if you’re a writer and this looks like a fun tag (it is!) then be my guest. And you can 100% say that I tagged you.

And have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

5 thoughts on “Basics of a Writer Tag

    1. Thank you for creating it! I started to do it last week but then I ended up not doing it until last night. Yeah I love Mumford & Sons! Favourite album is probably Babel and favourite song is a lot tougher to say, but one of my favourites is “Dust Bowl Dance.”

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

