The Evil Writer Award

In which I am a terrible human being…at least as a writer. 


Thank you so very much for tagging me, AlexCharming, because this looks like a wonderful tag. Even though I have protested strongly that I am not a villain, I must admit to being a bit of an evil writer, and so I am excited to do this tag, especially because I’m just now getting back into writing after a bit of a break.

~ The Rules ~

  • Give all of the credit to Kate, for she is an evil genius (I couldn’t find the original post, so just go to smudged thoughts and click the link to her site.)
  • Tag at least two other people
  • Invent more questions if you can think of any.

The Questions

How many characters do you typically kill per book? And how many people have you killed in real life, dear? Do you… feel any remorse about this? I’m concerned about you.
I typically kill at least one character per book, and usually many more in the backstories of my characters. For example, in my current WIP, I only kill one character (so far) in the actual events of the novel, but there are at least six deaths that I can think of that take place before the novel but have an impact on it.
 
Do you prefer to use weapons of mass destruction like explosions and famine and world war or more personal torture like killing family and friends and pets?
I’ve not tried any of those weapons of mass destruction yet. My books are very character-driven and so I go for a lot more personal torture.
 
Are you more like Loki, who perpetrates great evil with a creepy grin, or… give me a minute… Darth Vader, who secretly weeps inside his… fake head, whilst destroying the world? 
Usually I’m not necessarily grinning, but not weeping, either. However, in my current WIP, I realised that I was going to kill off the character who is probably my favourite character I have ever created, and I am pretty heartbroken over that.
 
What is the most dastardly crime you have ever committed as a writer? 
Everything I wrote in middle school, and much of what I wrote in high school.
 
What kind of chocolate do you most like to devour as you burn things? White, milk, semisweet, or dark? Bonus points if you are so evil you find unsweetened cacao palatable!
Not quite at the unsweetened cocoa level, but I do love my 90% dark.
 
What is your villainous title? You may not have “Evil Overlord” because that one’s mine.
Hahaha oh my. Tell you what, will you guys please come up with one for me?
 
Which of your characters would actually be a match for you if you were to duke it out one on one?
If this is a battle of physical strength, I think I would lose to any of them. Even the kids. But in a battle of wits, I think the character in the science fiction I recently (very briefly) tried to write would be a pretty exact match for me, as we have the exact same thinking style. She might even succeed in taking me down, because I think she’s about 10% more intelligent than I am.
 
Which character, in all the many books you have undoubtedly written, is most likely to be your Archnemesis?
Hmm. I’ll have to think about that a while. I don’t know if any of my characters are quite Archnemesis material? They’re just such ordinary people. I don’t think they have the drama and pizzazz for that.
 
Do you wear a cape? Face paint? A mask? Special underpants? Or do you hide in plain sight… like Moriarty? Give me details!
I hide in plain sight with well-tailored, black-and-white-with-a-dash-of-red office attire.
 
Do you believe in killing off main characters, or are they your smol precious babies whom you cannot even fathom laying a hand (or steel-tipped ax) upon? (#wimpyevilwriter)
I don’t mind killing off main characters. Well, at least I didn’t think I did. But I’m pretty upset about the aforementioned one, because, of all the characters in this particular novel, she is the least deserving of death.
Have you ever chickened out of your evilness and tried to resurrect a fallen character whom you have already brutally murdered? Or do you–as they say–let the sleeping skeleton lie?
I did, once, but I didn’t end up finishing that novel because the whole idea got too convoluted.
 
When murdering a man character, do you often describe it in cringe-worthy detail, or do you prefer to say “SPLAT! He’s dead”, and be done with it? (Bonus Question: have you ever actually said “SPLAT! He’s dead” in one of your writing projects?)
 
Dying because I’m just imagining, from the reader’s perspective, reading a very serious and intense scene where a character is in grave peril, and then that character dies and it’s so intense but then… “SPLAT! He’s dead.” Ahh, priceless.
My deaths don’t usually occur “on-screen” as it were. And they’re typically from illness, so not particularly gruesome. I prefer to focus in on the reactions of the other characters, because that’s where the emotional gut-punches lie.

Do you ever feel happy when you kill off characters, or do you curl up into a little ball and cry yourself to sleep?

I feel happy when I kill off a character and a reader expresses distress. The happiest I’ve ever been as a writer is when I sent one of my death scenes to a friend and she reported that she actually cried real tears. But, delight as I do in the pain of my readers, I do feel remorse for having killed the character. I don’t know what that says about me as a person, but it probably ain’t great. 

What is your prefered way of killing? Poison, hand-to-hand combat, torture? Or something else? the possibilities are endless! .)

The killer in my books tends to be disease; most of what I write does take place in the 19th century, after all.
Off the top of my head, some of the ways I have killed characters and the death toll from each method:
  • Tuberculosis/”Consumption”: 3
  • Scarlet Fever: 2
  • Unspecified illness: 2
  • Killed in battle: 1
  • Dysentery: 1
  • Complications of childbirth: 1
  • Factory accident: 1
  • Vehicle accident: 1
  • Old age: 1 (Eek, only one character got to live to a happy old age? I really am the worst!)
tumblr_inline_mh7lxjXkHk1r3q15c.gif
With diseases that were common in the 19th century.

My Nominees

If you are reading this and you like to write, please go for it! It’s a lot of fun!

Here are the questions so you don’t have to go back through copying and pasting:

How many characters do you typically kill per book? And how many people have you killed in real life, dear? Do you… feel any remorse about this? I’m concerned about you.
 
Do you prefer to use weapons of mass destruction like explosions and famine and world war or more personal torture like killing family and friends and pets?
 
Are you more like Loki, who perpetrates great evil with a creepy grin, or… give me a minute… Darth Vader, who secretly weeps inside his… fake head, whilst destroying the world? 
 
What is the most dastardly crime you have ever committed as a writer? 
 
What kind of chocolate do you most like to devour as you burn things? White, milk, semisweet, or dark? Bonus points if you are so evil you find unsweetened cacao palatable!
 
What is your villainous title? You may not have “Evil Overlord” because that one’s mine.
 
Which of your characters would actually be a match for you if you were to duke it out one on one?
 
Which character, in all the many books you have undoubtedly written, is most likely to be your Archnemesis?
 
Do you wear a cape? Face paint? A mask? Special underpants? Or do you hide in plain sight… like Moriarty? Give me details!
 
Do you believe in killing off main characters, or are they your smol precious babies whom you cannot even fathom laying a hand (or steel-tipped ax) upon? (#wimpyevilwriter)
 
Have you ever chickened out of your evilness and tried to resurrect a fallen character whom you have already brutally murdered? Or do you–as they say–let the sleeping skeleton lie?
 
When murdering a man character, do you often describe it in cringe-worthy detail, or do you prefer to say “SPLAT! He’s dead”, and be done with it? (Bonus Question: have you ever actually said “SPLAT! He’s dead” in one of your writing projects?)

Do you ever feel happy when you kill off characters, or do you curl up into a little ball and cry yourself to sleep?

What is your prefered way of killing? Poison, hand-to-hand combat, torture? Or something else? the possibilities are endless! .)

Thank you so much again for tagging me, AlexCharming! You guys should go check out her post, because her answers were really fun to read!

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

2 thoughts on “The Evil Writer Award

What are your thoughts?

