ABC Book Tag

In which I answer a bunch of questions that start with letters of the alphabet. 


the-acb.png

Thank you so much, AlexCharming, for tagging me! This looks like a fun tag, and I haven’t done a tag in a really, really long time!

These are the rules:

The Rules

  1. Thank the person who tagged you

  2. Use the tags banner (should be at the top of this post)

  3. Mention the creator @Lordofthetrekkies

  4. Answer the questions below

  5. List three of your favorite blogs

  6. Tag at least two others to try this tag

Seems easy enough.

Questions

A-Annoying- Name a character that got on your nerves.

Cassie from The 5th Wave Trilogy. I’ve not been as exasperated with any character since, that I can think of. I don’t think I’ve even used the word exasperated since I read that series.

L-Labyrinth- A plot that’s hard to understand.

Hmm… A plot that’s hard to understand? Had to stare at my bookshelf for a while and I didn’t really come up with anything. I’m sure there’s one out there that I’ve read, but nothing that jumps out.

E-Excellent- What book, in your opinion, has the best writing?

I don’t know. I could rattle off so many different titles here. I think I’m going to go ahead and choose both a classic and a more recent book. So for classics I’m going to probably say The Great Gatsby, because when I hear “well-written,” that’s what immediately pops into my head. Every sentence is so expertly crafted. The prose is so exquisite and reflects the glitter and opulence of the setting, without having even one extraneous word. It’s masterful.

And for more recent books, I’ll say The Book Thief. It’s so fresh and surprising and packed full of things that I would love to break down and analyse. So much so that I haven’t continued that series yet because I’m just overwhelmed by it. Phenomenal.

X-Xenograft- A plot/situation/character-type that’s been way over used.

Every time I start to type something here, I think of something else even worse. One thing that I seemed to find again and again in a lot of the YA books I tried to read was that guy who is terribly attractive but very brooding and distant and acts like a total jerk all the time (and the protagonist has a crush on him anyway, although usually she denies this to the reader at every opportunity in a very profuse, unconvincing manner), until about a third of the way through. At that point, the female protagonist gets into an argument with him or just finally calls him out on being a jerk, and in response, he spews a bunch of feelings and backstory that is supposed to make us sympathise with him, and he usually confesses his love for the protagonist at the same time. After this emotional outburst, he’s a completely different person and very sensitive and caring. We’re supposed to believe that he was this way all along, and forgive the many times he was a massive jerk. And we’re supposed to ship the ship. But I never did.

C-Careless- A book that is filled with plot holes and inconsistency.

I know I read one like this recently, and I was very angry at the time. I don’t know. The problem is that the books I hated don’t tend to be quite as memorable to me. Which I guess is good. I can’t have them cluttering up my mind; I need that space for the books I loved.

H-Helpful- A book that’s always been there for you.

There are so many. Some books are like comfort food because they have a soothing style, like Jane Eyre or To Kill a Mockingbird. Others make me feel good because of their subject matter as well as the fact that I read them as a little girl and have fond memories attached, and these books include the Little House series, the Anne of Green Gables series, and Little Women. And sometimes, books that are really thick and have a lot of stuff in them can be oddly soothing, even if the subject matter isn’t so much. So that would include Gone With the Wind and Les Miserables (of course).

A-Anticipation- A book that you’ve wanted to read for a while.

My TBR is so massive I don’t want to talk about it. But there’s one book that I bought and I really am looking forward to reading, and that’s The Far Pavilions. It’s so big, however, that it will be quite a commitment, and I have a lot of partially-finished books I need to finish, so I haven’t started it yet.

R-Ravaged- A book to movie adaptation that really stunk.

Hmm. Oh! The Tale of Despereaux. I loved that book as a child and I love it still, but does anyone remember that awful movie?! Because I try not to.

M-Metamorphic- A character that changed a lot.

I love these questions but they’re really making me think. Probably partially because I’m really tired right now. I guess one of the most stunning transformations is Jane Eyre. She starts out a helpless, poor orphan, but by the end she’s a very strong, intelligent woman who is able to achieve a wonderful life for herself on her own terms.

I-Ingenious- A one of a kind story/character.

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Book Store. It’s got bookstores, type-faces, a secret society, technology, sarcasm…it’s got everything. It’s a really crazy plot when you stop and think about it, but it really works.

G-Guru- Your go-to author

I have no idea. Do I have a go-to author? I don’t think I do. I can’t think of anything. I’m terrible at tags!

Three Favourite Blogs

Sorry, I can’t begin to choose. I have a lot of blogs that  I enjoy and picking three just doesn’t seem fair.

I Tag…

  1. If you’re reading this because you’re procrastinating, you are TAGGED! That’s what you get for putting off your responsibilities, you little procrastinator.
  2. If you were reading this and thinking of your own answers to some of the questions, you’re tagged.
  3. If this looks fun to you, you’re tagged.

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

One thought on “ABC Book Tag

  1. I love your answers! I too think that The Book Thief is one of the most eloquent recently written books. Also male protagonists in YA books…they’re so mean and whiny!

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

