My Bookish History Tag

In which I answer some questions regarding my history as a reader. 


Hello dears! I’ve not been posting much more than tags, and I apologise. I’ve been doing quite a bit of reading and also WRITING! I finally know where my story is going and I’m quite excited about that. I swear I’ll write a review soon, and do other normal posts, but for now, it’s tags!

I was tagged for this by Aralyn. Thank you so much! She actually started this tag, and it’s a very cool tag which I cannot wait to begin!

Rules

  1. Link back to whoever tagged you.
  2. Discuss based on these questions or create your own to help you out! (I’m not the best at creating questions…)

Let’s take a moment to appreciate how easy and low-pressure these rules are! I’m going to go ahead and use her questions because I happen to think she’s better at creating questions than she gives herself credit for.

Do you have any childhood favourites?

The more I thought about this, the more favourites I remembered. My mother used to read me Freckle Juice and Little House on the Prairie. I loved Anne of Green Gables, The Secret Garden, Black Beauty, Hoot, and Little Women. I loved Bridge to Terabithia, Holes,  Treasure Island, and Sarah, Plain and Tall. I loved reading about mischievous little girls like me, so I adored Ramona and Junie B. Jones. I adored (and read almost all of) The Babysitter’s Club books. I loved historical fiction from a very young age (all those Little House books, I expect) and discovered the Dear America series and the Royal Diaries series by the time they were a bit below my reading level. I liked them for that reason, however, because it meant I could devour them in an afternoon. I may have read all of them; I certainly read every one I could hunt down.

But my all time favourite was most definitely Where the Red Fern Grows.

Is there a book/series that really got your reading hobby snowballing?

Hmm, that’s a good question. I think it was mostly just the books mentioned above. I don’t know if there was a specific one that I could definitively say got me nto loving reading. I just loved reading. Always.

Was there a book that changed the genres you read?

I don’t think so, because I always liked a variety of genres.  I just have never really been tied to any particular genre.

Are there any books/series that hold a special place in your heart?

I think every book I’ve read does? Even books I’ve almost forgotten about—I’ll see a book in a bookstore and all the memories of it will come flooding back to me. Books—good ones, anyway—really stick with you. So if I started listing all the ones I felt special about, we would be here all night.

What kind of bookworm are you now?

I’m the kind of bookworm who thinks that books should look lived with and loved. What do you think when you see a child with an intensely battered teddy bear? You think, “That’s probably his favourite toy. It’s been loved, and loved a lot.” Well, books with creased spines and folded pages and covers that turn up when you lie the book on its side and scribbles in the margins and maybe a tea stain or two likewise bear evidence of being loved. I used to be a maniac about keeping my books in pristine condition, so much so that I had trouble reading them because I didn’t open them all the way for fear of bending the spine. At some point, I realised how silly that is. I don’t care about that anymore. Now, I open them fully, I underline, I annotate. Sometimes, I even highlight or dog-ear. If my books look worn, well good! People can see I read the heck out of them. I’d rather that any day than shelves of books that look as though they never left Barnes and Noble.

Do you have a shelfie for us?

Heh well usually I’m writing blog posts at my desk, where my bookshelf is right behind me, but this weekend I’m hanging with some sweet pups while their owners are out of town.

Capture.PNG

So I’ll have to show you my bookshelf another time.

I also talked about my history as a reader in this post and this post, if you’re interested in knowing more for some reason.

As always, I tag anyone who wishes to do this! And thank you, Aralyn, that was a lot of fun!

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

12 thoughts on “My Bookish History Tag

  1. I feel the same way about the condition of my books. I’d rather get the most out of a reading experience by annotating and highlighting then try to keep all of my books pristine. Where’s the fun in that? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, I’m so glad you did it! Love the answers, too! Especially the love of books for what kind of bookworm you are. And your first question’s answer gave me a good idea for another question I thought would fit well… I may have to add it to mine… *mumbles* You read quite a few books in your childhood! I remember read Anne of Green Gables, but it wasn’t one of my favorites. I have a terrible memory x)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, well I’m a bit of a rebel. Plus I just think if I was an author and saw someone’s copy of my book and they had written in it and read the heck out of it, I would be really, really touched. So I don’t feel like I’m disrespecting the book, I feel like I’m getting the most out of it. But everyone feels differently about it and guess what? If you own it, it’s yours! If you want to keep it pristine that is 100% ok. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

