The Song Connection Tag

In which I list songs that make me think of the novel I’m working on.


I’m doing a lot of tags, I know. What are you gonna do about it?

This tag was created by the lovely daleydowning, who has a truly delightful blog with a great variety of posts. If you’re not following her, do yourself a favour and go do so!

I thought this tag would be good because I’ve not been working on my novel as much lately. I feel like no matter what, something’s going to slide a bit, and The Unfinished Works of Hugo Wray Tinble has been that something lately. But hopefully this awesome tag will get me motivated again!

Rules

  • Think of ideas you have for your current WIP (work in progress), or that you would like to be a WIP (haven’t started yet, have writer’s block, etc.), and try to connect one of your favorite songs to a plot point/character arc/important scene to (hopefully) give you inspiration.
  • Aim for 3 (but if you can come up with more, kudos to you).
  • Explain your reasoning for each song/writing part.
  • Tag 3 others, or open it up to your whole community.

Let’s do this!

Apologies if this gets lengthy, I’m already thinking of 50 bajillion songs. All of these songs are more so about the relationship between the characters than the plot of the novel, which I suppose makes sense.

“Crooked Teeth” by Death Cab for Cutie

This is kind of the dark and depressing way the relationship between Hugo and Jemmie could turn out. (I’m still not really clear on how it’ll go yet—hopefully not like this).

I built you a home in my heart with rotten wood and it decayed from the start.

‘Cause you can’t find nothing at all, if there was nothing there all along.

Hugo has been holding onto this idea of the Jemmie he used to be best friends with for so long. Now that she’s returned, he’s searching for that Jemmie, but I think there’s a very real possibility that what he’s looking for never existed to begin with.

“Folkin’ Around” by Panic! At The Disco

Allow me to exaggerate a memory or two
When summer’s lasted longer than, longer than we do
When nothing really mattered except for me to be with you
But in time we all forgot as we all grew

That “exaggerate a memory or two” really gets me, because it just captures how much we tend to romanticise and change the past in our minds, and I think that’s a big part of this story. There’s also a part of the song that says “I’ve never been more scared to be alone” that I think really captures Hugo. It’s not like he has ever had a ton of other friends, and he’s been okay with that because he’s been waiting for Jemmie to come home. So now, if he loses his friendship with Jemmie, he really will be alone.

“Your Heart is an Empty Room” By Death Cab for Cutie

Home’s face, how it ages when you’re away
Spring blooms and you find the love that’s true
But you don’t know what now to do
‘Cause the chase is all you know
And you stopped running months ago
And all you see is where else you could be
When you’re at home
And out on the street
Are so many possibilities to not be alone
This just fits so nicely with my novel. All Jemmie thinks about is where else she could be and what else she could be doing, even though she has everything she needs right in front of her. Now that she’s “stopped running” and returned home, she’s not sure what to do. This is a fundamental difference between Hugo and Jemmie, because Hugo absolutely cannot understand it.

“Sovereign Light Cafe” by Keane

This is really the song that inspired the novel, in a way. This part of it, in particular:

I didn’t know I was finding out how I’d be torn from you,
When we talked about things we were gonna do.
We were wide-eyed dreamers,
And wiser, too.

I just pictured two friends talking about all of their dreams and plans for the future, and then one of them actually ends up going off and doing those things, leaving the other behind, and shifting things forever. That’s how Hugo and Jemmie started.


That was actually 4 songs. There are a ton more that I could have talked about, because I actually have a playlist of 68 songs for this novel, and I’m still adding to it.

Thank you so much for creating this tag, daleydowning!

I tag anyone who is working on a novel/has an idea for a novel. Music really helps.

Have a lovely day!
Signature Fonts

14 thoughts on “The Song Connection Tag

    1. It is pretty awesome! Hope you enjoy it too. Thanks for asking; I was procrastinating a lot and not writing much but now it’s coming pretty good again. And I think I pretty much know most of the plot so that’s good. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

What are your thoughts?

