Rainbow Book Tag

In which a book cover is selected for every colour of the rainbow (well, technically not all of the colours in this tag are from the rainbow, but who’s complaining?) 


I was nominated for this tag by the ever-lovely Mystery Date with a Book. You should definitely go and have a look at her delightful blog.

Rules

  1. Choose book covers from each colour of the rainbow. Books that are your favourite from that colour! If you can’t find a book of a certain colour then choose a cover that has that colour on it somewhere.
  2. The choices have to be books you own and/or has to be the exact edition you read.
  3. TAG some people to do it!

RED

FullSizeRender (14).jpg

I mean, this one isn’t even a surprise, is it? It’s my most beautiful edition of my favourite book. Of course I’m going to pick this one!

Orange

FullSizeRender (13).jpg

My lovely friend’s lovely parents gave me this gorgeous edition of Little Women. I am absolutely in love with it!

Yellow

FullSizeRender (12).jpg

Strangely, I don’t think I’ve mentioned it yet on this blog, but Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore is one of my favourite books. It’s got typefaces and books and bookstores and technology and sarcasm…basically everything I love. And I adore the cover because it’s BOOKS and they GLOW IN THE DARK!!!!

I get really enthusiastic about things that glow in the dark.

Green

FullSizeRender (11).jpg

This copy of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass is the closest I could find, but technically it’s just the spine that’s green. Definitely one of my favourite books, though.

Blue

FullSizeRender (10)

I’ve noticed that it’s becoming rather popular to hate The Fault in Our Stars, but I will defend it to the death.

It was difficult to pick though, because in doing this tag, I discovered that, other than black, blue is the most predominant colour on my bookshelf. In order to demonstrate this, I took the liberty of gathering all of my blue books/books that feature blue prominently on the cover.

IMG_1980.JPG

And in case you’re wondering why I have two baby name books…Well, what can I say? Part of being a writer.

Indigo/Turquoise 

Now would be a good time to confess that I have trouble differentiating between different shades of colours.

think this is turquoise, but regardless, it’s BEAUTIFUL.

FullSizeRender (9).jpg

Purple

FullSizeRender (8).jpg

Again, this is only a spine, but close enough, right? Apparently I have no all-purple books. But Alex and Me is one of my favourite books ever. It’s a really remarkable (and heartbreaking) true story.

Pink

For some reason I have no pink books, and I was really determined to stick with copies that I own. The closest I could come was this pink dress on Anne of the Island.

FullSizeRender (7).jpg

Brown

FullSizeRender (6).jpg

So when I was eight years old I was in a musical about Thomas Edison (blech) and I was one of his assistants and since none of the assistants were actually named in the script, I have been and shall continue to go around for the rest of my life shamelessly telling people that I played Nikola Tesla in a musical…and so there you go, that is my story for today.

Additional fun fact: apparently Nikola Tesla was an INTJ, like me. Just another reason he was AWESOME!

White

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

Love how beautiful All the Bright Places looks without its jacket.

Honourable mention goes to H2O. One of the worst books I’ve read in a while, but I cannot get over the awesomeness of the cover design.

A+ for cover design.

Black

 

 

IMG_1981

Tales of Mystery and Imagination,  by Edgar Allan Poe. I didn’t own any of Poe’s works for a really long time, and then one day I found this at a local bookstore for super cheap. I’m so glad when I hold out for a long time and end up with a truly lovely edition.

My Nominees

As has become my thing, I’m leaving it open. Looking forward to reading everyone’s answers (and drooling over everyone’s gorgeous books!)

Thank you so much for tagging me, Mystery Date with a Book! This was a fun tag and I really enjoyed doing it!

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

11 thoughts on “Rainbow Book Tag

  1. Lol…love how you made some of them fit when it was “iffy” 🙂

    Tesla *was* awesome, flat out! 😀

    I’ve used baby name books loads before – it’s really helpful when you just can’t think of something interesting to call your characters!

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

