Review: The Infinite Sea

In which I review the second book in Rick Yancey’s 5th Wave Trilogy: The Infinite Sea.


I wish I had reviewed this book as soon as I finished it, but unfortunately I was without a laptop. Who am I kidding? The truth is that even if I’d had my laptop, I would have dived straight into the next book. You can’t just take a break and write a review in the middle of a series like that!

This is the second book in the 5th Wave trilogy, so if you’ve not read The 5th Wave, I suggest you go and read my review of that. An exception would be if you have already read that review, don’t really have any desire to read the series, and are still just going to read this anyway. There are a few of you out there who read my reviews even when it’s not a book you’re interested in. I’ve never said it before, so I’m saying it now: you are honestly some of my favourite people.

Anyway, this will be the second book that I’m reviewing using my new structure, so if you’ve already read The Infinite Sea, please do pop over to my rant post so we can discuss it.

 Goodreads Summary:

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

Goodreads

I guess I’ll start off with one thing that I did not like: this book is half the size of The 5th Wave! Why? I really loved how nice and thick that book was, and this one didn’t feel long enough. So I just want to get that out of the way: I was not pleased with the smaller size. Shouldn’t books in a series be a consistent size?

Especially since we got some new POVs in this book, which I was really excited about, but which made it feel even more rushed. With more characters telling the story, we could have used some more time.

And speaking of characters, I was not at all please with Cassie in this book. More on that in my rant post, but suffice it to say, while she started off really strong in The 5th Wave, she disappointed me as time went on.

But I was pretty happy with the other characters. We get some more information about the pasts of several of them, which is always interesting. Zombie continues to be one of my favourite characters of all time; likewise for Ringer, whom I was happy to see narrating a significant portion of the book. So, character-wise, I was pleased.

The writing does not disappoint either. While Rick Yancey seems to be a little overly fond of repetition (pretty much every version of the phrase “the infinite sea” appears approximately 148 times, for example) it does create a very cohesive, flowing effect. I can definitely see why he does it, but at the same time, if I’d had to read about just one more silver cord or crucifix soldier or complete circle, I might have lost it. I love the symbols in this book, but you never get a break from them. And it’s just the same ones over and over.

Strangely, even though this book was shorter than The 5th Wave, the pacing was a bit slower, and the plotting could have been tighter. It was almost just setting up the next book, a sort of bridge.

Overall, I ended up not loving this book as much as The 5th Wave, but it was still a great book. I think I’ll give it a 4/5.

It’s kind of weird reviewing books (other than the first book) in a series because if you didn’t like the first book, you won’t read the second one; if you liked the first book, you probably will; if you haven’t read the first book, you probably won’t. Thus, a review seems almost pointless.

I tried, though. I did.

Again, if you’ve read The Infinite Sea, I suggest popping over to my rant post so that we can discuss it.

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

6 thoughts on “Review: The Infinite Sea

  1. I haven’t read the first book yet, but this is a great review! I like that you haven’t given too much away. I think this is the first book I’ve heard of with that much repetition? I think that’d bother me a little.

    Liked by 2 people

What are your thoughts?

