New Structure for Reviews

In which I explain my new review structure, which will allow me to balance what is enjoyable for me with what is helpful for you. 


Since this blog started, I’ve been kind of torn. On the one hand, I want my reviews to be spoiler-free, because a big majority of people who read reviews are obviously going to be people who haven’t read the book. But at the same time, I want to rant and connect with people who have read the book, and if I do that, it’s going to be a spoilerfest. It’s been a dilemma.

I’ve done it various ways.

So the thing is, if this was a review blog and if I weren’t the person I am, I would write a thoughtful, free-of-spoilers review that could help guide you in your decision whether or not to read the book. But that’s not why I blog. Remember my tagline: a book nerd talks books.

At its most basic, I want to talk about books. I want to rant about books, and I want to discuss the book with others who have read it.

Besides, I’m a ranter by nature. My very first blog was literally called, “Why Yes, I Love Ranting.” It’s apparently still out there, (all two posts of it). And since I don’t remember my login, I can never take it down. Hah. Anyway, it was just going to be a place for me to rant about whatever. That idea is still attractive to me.

So, all that being said, here is my new format. We’ll try it out and see if it works.

I’ll post one post that will be a conventional, totally safe and spoiler free review. Then, I’ll post a second post for people who have read the book, in which I give spoiler-y opinions on it and just rant about what I liked and didn’t like, perhaps fangirl a bit, and get out all the thoughts and feels that I have stored up inside.

Be on the lookout for my posts about The 5th Wave. They will be up shortly.
Signature Fonts

14 thoughts on “New Structure for Reviews

  1. I’ve had the same thought! I have some spoilers want to discuss with people, but I don’t want to stick it right in the middle of a non-spoilery review… even if there’s plenty of warning, some people accidentally see it. I did find out, though, that you can make password-protected posts on here. So I may try to make a non-spoilery review, put the password in that review for the people that want to discuss spoilers (or possibly just put the password in the title of the spoilery review), and then let people have have at it.
    But I totally get where you’re coming from and I’ve had the same problems about books that I really, seriously want to discuss 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Why yes, I love ranting” is a great name for a blog. I approve haha. I think it’s great that you’re considering other readers. I’ve only posted one rant/spoiler-y review, but in that case, I was sort of forced to. I couldn’t hold those feelings in. When it’s a book I really like, I wouldn’t want to spoil it for anyone else, so I get what you mean. Great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ha! I love that you’re concerned about spoilers – but not concerned enough to compromise what your ultimate goal is. 🙂 Personally, when I post a review, I try really hard to avoid spoilers, but it’s also because that’s a pet peeve of mine. Yet there have been to be enough details so that people actually get an idea of *what* the book/movie is *about* (another pet peeve – when finding that information in a *review* is impossible). Finding the right balance can be a bit tricky. But I like your idea of just posting twice when you feel it’s necessary, and providing fair warning for folks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah. That’s true too. I don’t like reviews where the person just says it’s good. I want more information! In what ways is it good? How do I know you and I have the same reading taste? It’s a difficult balance, and there are some who do it really well, but as for me, this complete separation is going to have to work. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Do what you want to do because in the end if you don’t enjoy writing them that will most likely come across and people won’t enjoy reading them as much! 🙂 I love reading both types of reviews, depends if I’ve read the book or not 😜😂

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

