The Shuffle Book Tag!

In which I try to make something a thing. 


I’m going to start a tag! It probably won’t catch on, but we shall try. We shall just do our best. That is all we can do. (Who’s we? Who knows.)

I really hope this isn’t a thing. A quick couple of google searches didn’t turn up anything, but you never know. You just never know. The internet is a big place. Plus, whenever I have an original idea, it turns out to not be original.

So here’s how it’s gonna go down (I get to make up rules! This kind of power excites me.)

Rules

  1. Thank the person who nominated you, and provide a link to their post.
  2. Shuffle your itunes library, google play music library, or whatever you’ve got.
  3. For each song that comes on, list the song and the artist, and name a book that it makes you think of, explaining why. (You can do as many or as few as you want, I’m not going to set a number. This is a low pressure tag. Whoever we are, we’s pretty laid back.)
  4. Tag however many people you want, or everyone.

And with that, let’s get started!

*shuffles my google play library* (Which I have my bro to thank for. Thank you bro. Can I call you bro?)

1. “Doors Unlocked And Open” by Death Cab for Cutie

I honestly cannot think of anything. So that’s how we’re going to start out, is it? Is this tag going to end up being really hard? I hope not. But if it does, I just won’t post it and we can all pretend it never happened. Well, you guys won’t have to pretend. For all you’ll know, it didn’t.

2. “Oh Ms Believer” by Twenty Øne Piløts

All the Bright Places. This was a fairly easy one! This song definitely makes me think of that book, just the tone of the song and the idea of two people holding hands and running through this cold dark emotional place. Yeah, definitely makes me think of Finch and Violet.

3. “Flapper Girl” by The Lumineers.

This was a hard one. It took me almost to the end of the song to think of anything (but that’s okay because I love this song.) I’m going to say it makes me think of The Great Gatsby, and not just because flappers and Gatsby are both twenties things.

It’s not a perfect fit, but the whole thing about buying her a big Cadillac so she can wave to all her friends makes me think of the car, of course, and also Gatsby’s belief that he can impress Daisy with all his wealth. Plus the whole “I’ve been gone but you’re still my lady.” He feels married to Daisy, even though he’s been away for a long time and she’s married to Tom. And that last line: “Lovers come, lovers go, lovers leave me alone. She’ll come back to me.” Calls to mind his stubborn belief in Daisy right up to the end. Yep. It kinda works.

4. “Sovereign Light Cafe” by Keane

Gah, this is one of my favourite songs ever. It’s really sad, and the more you listen to it, the more sad it becomes. But it’s so upbeat and fun to listen to. Anyway, back to the tag. Uh, it makes me think of my book, does that count? No. It doesn’t. Um…heh. I got nothing.

5. “When The Day Met The Night” by Panic! At The Disco

Am I allowed to do All the Bright Places again? It’s my tag, I guess I get to make my own rules, right? “When the moon found the sun, he looked like he was barely hanging on, but her eyes saved his life in the middle of summer.” It was at that point in the song that I was like, oh! Yes. Agh and then: “She said, ‘that’s okay, as long as you can make a promise not to break my little heart and leave me all alone in the summer.'” Agh. That kills me a lot when you’re thinking about this song in relation to that book.

6. “Ho Hey” by The Lumineers

Another Lumineers song. That’s funny because I don’t even have very many (just one album). Hmm a book that relates to this one…Oh! Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. I don’t think I could explain it without giving spoilers though.

7. “Vagabond” by MisterWives

I love this song so much but I can’t think of a book for this one. Listened to the whole thing and I couldn’t think of anything.

8. “Death Of A Bachelor” by Panic! At The Disco

Well, the first time I listened to this I didn’t pay enough attention and thought it was just about someone dying while they’re still a bachelor. But my brother explained that it’s “the death of a bachelor” because he’s getting married. So it’s like his life as a bachelor is ending but it’s worth it for happily-ever-after. I listened to it again and I was like, ohhh. Anyway, can’t really think of anything.

9. “Cold Cold Man” by Saint Motel

I love this song so much. I feel like it works for any book with a male love interest who really loves the girl a lot but doesn’t display it very well. Maybe Pride and Prejudice. Yeah. We’ll go with that.

10. “Henry The VIII, I Am” by Herman’s Hermits

Haha, I would be impressed if you could find me a book that fits this one.

11. “At Least I Have Nothing” by Saint Motel

This one makes me think of Margo from Paper Towns. Because she just kind of runs away and leaves everything conventional behind. No money, no jobs, no family or friends.

12. “Life in the Fast Lane” by The Eagles

Makes me think of The Beautiful and Damned. Just Anthony and Gloria partying and seeking pleasure at all costs, even though it doesn’t make them happy and eventually leads to alcoholism and dissolution.

13. “From Finner” by Of Monsters And Men

Love this song, can’t think of a book for it.

14. “Hospital Beds” by Florence + The Machine

This makes me think of an excerpt I read one time from Angela’s Ashes where Frank is in the hospital and he makes friends with that girl who’s dying. I think she had diphtheria? Mostly just the lyric: “I’ve got my friend lying across from me I did not choose him, he did not choose me. We’ve got no chance of recovery.” Anyway, I read that excerpt at school and then ended up reading the book.

15. “Sunday Bloody Sunday” by U2

I am so surprised we made it to FIFTEEN before I managed to relate one to Les Mis. But this one, definitely. Definitely makes me think of the barricade. Especially: “bodies strewn across the dead-end street.” Also: “There’s many lost but tell me who has won?” It just wasn’t a good thing at all for either side. And the whole idea of “How long must we sing this song?” Because the barricade boys were hoping for a future in which there wouldn’t be any more violence, even though they believed they would need to fight/give their lives to get there.

This is just a really powerful song, by the way. If somehow you’ve not heard it, you should look it up.


Okay well I guess that’s enough because 15 is a good, solid number and I’m very tired, haha.

I tag everyone who wants to do this, but I’m going to tag a few specific people too, just to get this tag going.

  1. Jonathan Fisher
  2. Fatima @ NoteablePad
  3. AlexCharming
  4. Bailey
  5. Mystery Date with a Book

Okay that was just a few people to get this going, but I really would love for everyone who thinks it looks fun to do it. I’m sure it’s more fun than I made it look. I’m sure of it.

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

33 thoughts on “The Shuffle Book Tag!

  1. Oooh great idea for a tag!! Alrighty, I’m bookmarking this and I shall get to this tag hopefully soon. My interest has been piqued 😀

    I also love that this introduces people to new songs and artists. It seems you and I don’t listen to anything in common LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh this is so cool — if you don’t mind, I’d really like to do it on my blog sometime! I have really strong music-book associations, so it seems great for me. Um, I actually have several bookish playlists on my Spotify. I’ll confess that I don’t know all of these songs, but I do have Sunday Bloody Sunday on my Les Mis one. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, this was a good one… In general, I’m feeling the pressure from outside sources (think kids and just life), so I’d like to try to balance the stress of real life with doing something fun in the blogging world… It’s cool that you’re taking the plunge and inventing a tag yourself! And I wanted to support you in that. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh, I love this tag! Awesome and original. I’ve seen the shuffle (?) tag before, but not the shuffle book tag. Thanks for the tag 😀 You have some great songs here. I’m not sure I’ll be able to think of a lot of books though. I’ll probably just be sitting for a long time scratching my head. Are we linking it to the lyrics or the overall tone?

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

