Books With A Purpose Tag!

In which I answer a bunch of questions with gifs. 


Hello everyone! I’m really quite excited to do this tag. It was created by Jonathan Fisher. Click on that link to be taken to the first ever Books With A Purpose Tag post. Pretty cool. And while you’re there, check out his blog.

The Rules

  1. Mention the person who tagged you in your post and provide a link to their blog
  2. Fill out the 9 questions in the tag
  3. For each question, insert a gif of how you feel about the book(s) or author.
  4. Tag 5 people and/or everyone to do this tag!
  5. Before you post the tag, do a five-second party dance. Cause you dat awesome!

These rules don’t look like terribly difficult rules, so let’s do this!!!

1. Best Story Premise?

Death as a narrator in The Book Thief. Just very unique and well-done, and it just added an extra dimension to the book that really heightened the impact. And really, who could be more qualified to narrate a story about WWII than Death himself? That book in general was just so impressive.

3054981-inline-i-5-these-are-the-bill-nye-reaction-gifs-you-didnt-know-you-needed

2. Best World Building? (Besides Tolkien😉 )

Some of you might hate me for this, but I haven’t read much fantasy at all. Can’t think of any books for this question…I’m sorry.

tumblr_n1w272oZVJ1tui939o7_250.gif

3. Best Characters?

I’m sorry but I’m just going to have to go with Les Miserables for the book with the best characters. Like, I forget that these people weren’t actually real at some point because they were so completely fleshed out. I cannot tell you guys how much I love these characters okay I just…

tumblr_m6m3yuk9IJ1rxc156o1_500

4. Best Series?

I don’t know. I don’t read a lot of serieses??? It’s just too much commitment.

5f4c11193e4e424b02afd83f94a443d3.jpg

5. Best Tear Jerker? (Aka, the John Green Award)

All the Bright Places. I had never actually sobbed while reading a book, until I read that one.

waaaaa

6. Best Author?

umm_no_sherlock

Sorry. I just have no idea how to go about making that decision! Can’t do it.

7. Best Writing Style?

Again, don’t think I could decide on that. I’m sorry.

tumblr_ml1nohdwYS1s5686eo1_400

8. Best Cover? (You don’t have to own it)

I really, really love this edition of Les Miserables. 

IMG_0833

tumblr_nypkxoschk1tsfx8ro2_400.gif

9. Best Ending?

Hmm… I don’t know if I could pick a “best,” but the ending of We Were Liars was pretty crazy. I was just like:

AiJv2cA.gif

 

Thanks Jonathan Fisher! This was a super fun tag and I really enjoyed it! I tag everyone who wants to do it! Seriously, if it looks like fun, just do it. I want to see your answers.

Jonathan Fisher did this super helpful thing where he put all the answers at the end so you don’t have to go through copying and pasting them, so I’m gonna do that too.

1. Best Story Premise?

2. Best World Building? (Besides Tolkien😉 )

3. Best Characters?

4. Best Series?

5. Best Tear Jerker? (Aka, the John Green Award)

6. Best Author?

7. Best Writing Style?

8. Best Cover? (You don’t have to own it)

9. Best Ending?

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

21 thoughts on “Books With A Purpose Tag!

  1. That edition of Les Mis is stunning! 🙂 I’m loving it. For ‘best tear jerker’ I’d have to pick basically any book by Thomas Hardy. A part of me dies whenever I finish his books. I don’t even like any characters, but the tears just start and never end. Oh, and anything by Khaled Hosseini. Man, he knows how to get the waterworks started.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, very helpful having the questions at the end… I’m swearing off tags for a while (need to do housework and finish pen and paper work)… But I’ll answer the questions just to make Chloe’s day! 🙂

    AWESOME Doctor Who stuff! Huzzah! 😀

    Best story premise: Hmm…either Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings…or The Last Unicorn. All of them. To hell with rules.
    Best world building: Ha! Nice little catch there, for the many, many people who would’ve immediately named Tolkien. Harry Potter, definitely. So well thought out and researched. Same goes for Narnia (the whole of the Chronicles). But I’d have to say Warriors, too.
    Best characters: Harry Potter. Legend. The Scarlet Pimpernel. Sydney Carton. Alice Liddell. Scout Finch and Boo Radley. Bluestar, Yellowfang, and Fireheart. (Warriors is going to start making it in everywhere now.)
    Best series: Harry Potter. Warriors. Do I sound like a broken record yet?
    Best tear-jerker: aka the John Green award – lol! that’s true. Sorry, folks, Warriors definitely gets my vote here. That and certain Terry Pratchett books that make me cry like a baby even it’s the 14th time I’ve re-read them.
    Best author: Terry Pratchett. Neil Gaiman. JK Rowling.
    Best writing style: Just see above. And Erma Bombeck and Dave Barry.
    Best cover: Several of the Warriors individual novels. The artwork is just gorgeous on some of them.
    Best ending: Hmmm… what’s the definition of “best” here? Happy or heartstring-tugging? Warm and cozy or poignant but necessary? Or best surprise? Well, I really liked the ending to HP 7, but of course although it’s fitting it’s bittersweet. The endings of Mort and Thud! and The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents (Discworld) always make me smile. And Neil Gaiman’s Fortunately, the Milk.

    Hope everyone likes this! You’re welcome, Chloe! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m really sleepy and I didn’t mean to type “my questions.” they aren’t my questions, but they are really good questions so I would happily claim ownership, hehe.

        Like

What are your thoughts?

