Of Sci-Fi and Puppies

In which… Just basically books and puppies. 


*Clears throat*

Okay well I’m going to lead with the fact that I’m puppy-sitting this weekend!

She’s so cute I just can’t even stand it, and trying to take pictures with her for this post was making me laugh so hard because she kept licking me and wouldn’t sit still.

So yeah, now that you’re all basking in the cuteness of the puppy, I’m going to confess that I just went out and got two new books.

IMG_1755.JPG

So I really, really was late to the party on The 5th Wave. When I finally heard about it, I put a hold on it at the library only to find out that there was like 15 people ahead of me. So finally, finally it came in and I picked it up today.

But then I’m reading it and I’m thinking dang I really wish I could annotate this.

Next thing I know I’m at Barnes and Noble, buying a copy of a book I have a library copy of.

It happens.

I also got The Martian Chronicles because:

  1. Ray Bradbury
  2. Both of my brothers recommend it—not too common for them to agree on a recommendation
  3. Ray Bradbury. 
  4. Beautiful cover art
  5. Ray Bradbury 

Seriously though, don’t you like the cover on The Martian Chronicles? Me and the checkout guy (there’s a word for those checkout guys but I have a migraine and I can’t think of it) had a conversation about it. It’s just…it’s just lovely. I don’t see covers that lovely on classics very often, which is ridiculous. (Although I have been seeing a lot more lately.) It’s like they put so much effort into the covers of new books (and some are still awful but, beside the point!) to get people to buy them, but they know that enough people are going to buy classics anyway that they don’t bother. It’s sad.

ANYWAY. I’m just really in the mood for science fiction right now. I think the last science fiction I read was War of the Worlds quite a while ago. So it’s about time!

I’m also really happy because I don’t know why but I hate it when covers say “Now a Major Motion Picture.” It’s a really stupid thing to get upset about and I just cannot explain it to you. It is what it is, and I usually deal with it. But on this one, it peels right off! Beautiful!!!

And Maeby approves of these books. 🙂

IMG_1748.JPG

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

28 thoughts on “Of Sci-Fi and Puppies

  1. I completely understand your mention of the motion picture emblems on books. I prefer them to be stickers that peel off easily, but some are ingrained in the book! Aggravating. I also don’t like when they put movie images for the covers. It puts those faces into people’s minds so they can’t read it while envisioning people their own way. And it’s usually uglier than the original cover.

    I haven’t read either or these (saw the 5th Wave movie…), but I’m gonna look up The Martian Chronicles and see if I might like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! A lot of them are permanent, but at least this was a sticker. And yeah, just really am not a fan of movie covers. At least you can still usually get the original cover. If you read it, I’d love to hear what you think as I have yet to read it myself. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. New covers for classics now! If we don’t find a way to keep bringing the classics to new readers, then eventually they’ll die off…

    Ray Bradbury is always worth a try! Personally I just don’t care for most of his subject matter, but his style and insight were great. He was just a really nice person, too, by all accounts. (And yes, I have read many very nice things about him.) 🙂

    I’m officially off dystopia, alien invasions, or any new sci-fi. Just not for me. Glad you’re enjoying, though!

    Haven’t we all sometimes needed to purchase our own copy before we return the library’s? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really love his writing style and have enjoyed a lot of his short stories as well as Fahrenheit 451, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy this one. I think it’s important not to force yourself to read stuff that just isn’t for you. And yeah, it definitely happens!

      Like

      1. I tried so, so hard with dystopia and sci-fi… Some sci-fi I kind of like, enough that I won’t swear off the genre as a whole. But the dystopia kick is really over for me. People will just have to deal with that. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You know, I’ve never been into the recent dystopians. Didn’t read The Hunger Games or Divergent. I tried The Matched trilogy and didn’t make it through the second book…but the classic dystopians (1984, Fahrenheit 451, etc.)? Oh yeah. Love those. But you just shouldn’t have to explain your genre preferences to anyone. I’m never going to read straight up romance novels. I don’t judge those who do, and I hope they don’t judge me. 🙂

        Like

      3. Yeah, judging the genre and what a personal preference is is totally different than judging someone. Most of the styles in dystopia (new or classic), romance, etc. just aren’t for me. When people start trying to force you to read stuff, that’s what bothers me.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I couldn’t make it through books 2 and 3 in The Hunger Games; Matched I gave about 50 pages. Divergent really makes me gag after reading it. Never tried the classics, and I’m okay with that. The only dystopia series I actually like is Legend – but that’s also because it’s much more about the themes than a focus on the dystopian world. By the way, Marie Lu said in her author’s notes that she was inspired to start writing Legend after watching Les Mis one night. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

