Epic Reads Tag

In which I answer a bunch of fun questions about books!


Hello everyone! I found this tag on limdir’s blog (which you should go and check out, by the way!). I wasn’t exactly tagged, but he did suggest to everyone that they should do it. In fact, his exact words were “I highly suggest doing it yourself!” (italics and bold mine). You can’t argue with a high suggestion, now can you?

If you could invite one author and one of their fictional characters to lunch, who would you invite and what would you serve them?

Oh, that’s tough. I honestly don’t know. So many options! It’s hard because I feel like a lot of my favourite characters are more likeable on the page than they would be in real life. For example, can you imagine lunch with Sherlock? It would be kind of frightening wondering what he’s deducing about you. Especially for me, because while I share a lot on this blog, I’m an extremely reserved and private person offline. So I don’t know, all my favourite characters I feel like either I would end up not liking them, which would be sad, or they wouldn’t like me, which would be heartbreaking. As for authors, I don’t really know a lot about my favourite authors? That may seem weird, but I like to keep them separate from their work, so I try not to know about them.

Besides, I never invite people for lunch. I invite them to tea.

If anyone ever asks what skills I possess, I am definitely going to mention my aptitude for answering questions without answering them at all.

What book do you wish the author would write a prequel for?

The Phantom of the Opera. I really want to read a book of the adventures Erik had before he was the Opera Ghost. Sadly, Gaston Leroux is dead. 😦

Which two characters (not from the same book) would make a good couple?

Shipping is my guilty pleasure that I’m not guilty about, so I love this question! Have to think about it though. I know I ship people from different books, but for some reason I’m drawing a blank.

Okay, I just stared at my bookshelf for like 15 minutes, and this popped into my head. At first I was like, “What? Why? That’s weird.” But I think it works.

Phineas from A Separate Peace (I tried to find his last name and then it hit me that Knowles never provides a last name for him. Suddenly I want to write a whole post analysing that…) and Violet Markey from All the Bright Places.

I think it would be good because Finny is such a daredevil and pushes people out of their comfort zone, a lot like what Finch does for Violet, so I think it would be all of the positive things about that relationship but without all the pain and stuff. I mean, they’re from different time periods but it would work out somehow.

Spoiler for both books: And it wouldn’t have to break up the Finch and Violet relationship because it could come later on, after Finch’s death. And yes, I realise that Finny also dies, but whatever. We’d work it out somehow. We’d time-travel him to Violet’s time before stupid Gene bounces that stupid branch. End Spoiler.

If you ran into your favorite author on the subway and only could say one sentence to them, who is it and what would it be?

Victor Hugo, and it would be, “Your book absolutely ruined my life and it’s all I talk about and my followers hate me thanks to you.”

But to be honest, if I ran into him on the subway, I would probably just be so excited that time travel obviously exists, and that would make me speechless.

What book made you a reader and why?

Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House books. I’m really glad that my mother didn’t only read me picture books as a child. I have memories from as early as preschool of her reading the Little House books as bedtime stories, and me begging her to read just one more chapter. I remember wanting to learn to read so that I could read them to myself.

Your bookshelf just caught fire. Show the book you’d save.

I’d burn with them, Fahrenheit 451 style.

IMG_1732.JPG
Is this the worst of many bad pictures I have taken on this blog? Could be.

Just kidding. (Or am I?)

As much as I love my books, most of them could be replaced quite easily (except I’d have to annotate them all over again, which would be a difficult task). But this book is my favourite childhood picture book, and before it was mine it belonged to my mother. I gave away most of my beloved picture books to various children, but I kept this one. While technically I could get another copy, it wouldn’t be the same.

 

Which dystopian world would you want to live in if you had to choose one? Why?

Is there really a good option here? Maybe Fahrenheit 451 because I’m about due to reread that book, but as I recall, it wasn’t that bad other than the whole burning books thing, and I’m pretty good at devising hiding places so I choose to believe that I could save my books.

What is your most epic read of all time?

I really want to say something different for a change, but I’m going to have to say it.

Les Miserables. 

It just has everything! Everything! And it’s extremely educational. I have it to thank for my knowledge on such interesting topics as the history of Paris’s sewer system, criminal slang, and Waterloo. I learned way more about history from that book than I ever did in history class. And it’s just got so many interesting subplots. And even the most minor of characters are extremely well-fleshed-out. And the themes, man. The themes! Truly universal themes.

I just…I love it.

 

So yeah, please do this tag if it looks like fun to you! And then leave a link to it if you do, because I want to see your answers!

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

28 thoughts on “Epic Reads Tag

  1. If you haven’t seen Francois Truffaut’s film of “F451,” try it out! I was a huge Ray Bradbury fan as an adolescent (a time that is long past, thankfully) and was exhilarated by the film. Some of the stuff in the film has come true.
    This 2nd bit is more in response to reading classics. I had a novel (hehe) experience with “The Scarlet Letter.” It was part of the curriculum in 10th grade English and I hated it. I then read it as a sophomore in college and liked it a bit more, then read it a couple of years later and found it to be completely enjoyable and pretty humorous. The circumloquaciousness of 19th C. (and earlier) prose leaves many readers in the dust, particularly younger readers. When I read it the third time, I realized that Hawthorne was writing from a mindset in the mid-19th C. about people behaving badly in the late 17th. Although his humor is subtle and slyly hidden in the careful crafting of his sentences, he loves Hester Prynne and almost everyone else is a villainous buffoon.
    Currently, I’ve started delving back into the 19th C. and it is beautiful writing about a distant time (Eliot, Hardy, Gaskell, Balzac, Zola, Thackeray, etc.).
    Kind regards,
    MSOC

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t seen the film version, but as I love the book, I’ll have to watch it one of these days. The Scarlet Letter is a very good book as well, I need to reread it one of these days. The 19th century was a wonderful literary period; I think it was a time in history when authors realised like never before that they could influence society to change—or at least make people aware of problems—through writing. The result was a number of great works that show the harsh realities of life, but also moments of great heroism, kindness, and beauty. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks like fun, I think I’ll do this tonight! Your writing is always so hilarious, my day is always brightened after reading your posts! The Little House books were some of my earliest books too, I think they definitely helped foster my love of reading. Great post as usual! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “I’d burn with them, Fahrenheit 451 style.” I was not anticipating that answer haha. Let’s hope you never choose to do that. I loved reading your answers, as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LOLOLOLOL…especially to the bit about Farenheit 451 (never read, but know the premise), and the bit about Victor Hugo on the subway! 🙂

    I may do this tag…we’ll see. There are other things I’m hoping to get to (around children’s shenigans).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “If anyone ever asks what skills I possess, I am definitely going to mention my aptitude for answering questions without answering them at all.” I hear that’s a good skill in politics, at least! 😀

    Also, I love A Separate Peace and Phineas, but I haven’t read all the Bright Places, so I may need to look into that!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Looks like I missed my true calling, haha! 😀

      I definitely recommend All the Bright Places, but fair warning: it made me sob uncontrollably. I would recommend reading the ending when you don’t have to leave your house for the rest of the day, because there’s a high likelihood you will want to just crawl into bed and eat chocolate and try to console yourself. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

What are your thoughts?

