The Character Book Tag!

In which I share a bunch of opinions about characters in a super fun tag! 


Hello dears! I am pretty excited to do this because I was reading Anuska Anand’s post and thought it looked like a really fun tag. I was like, “If she leaves this tag open, I’m doing it!” Then I got to the nominees and she’d nominated me! Absolutely made my day, thank you so much, Anushka! (And people: definitely check out her blog.)

So this is pretty much what it sounds like. It’s a bunch of character-related questions. And since I really love characters, it should be fun!

1. Who is the most tough and awesome character?

Shh. I censor things. Whadya gonna do ’bout it? Huh?

*Pulls out a list*

I know I can’t list them all, but can I do two? Anuska Anand did two, so it’s not without precedent. I’m doing two.

I’m going with Miss Pross from A Tale of Two Cities and Eponine Thenardier from Les Miserables.

Miss Pross, though. She’s amazing. A lot of “strong” female characters these days are all: “I act like I don’t have emotions and that’s what makes me tough.” I don’t mind these characters (I mean, I tend to be that way myself). It’s just that by promoting that image of a strong female character, we can start to think that’s the only way of being strong. Miss Pross is not like that at all.

It was in vain for Madame Defarge to struggle and to strike; Miss Pross, with the vigorous tenacity of love, always so much stronger than hate, clasped her tight, and even lifted her from the floor in the struggle that they had.

Yeah just. The whole showdown between her and Madame Defarge, her absolute devotion to Lucie…

(If you never read any other Dickens novel in your life, read A Tale of Two Cities.)

And then we’ve got Eponine-casually-stares-down-a-gang-of-six-armed-men-Thenardier.

“There are six of you, but what do I care? You are men. Well, I am a woman. You don’t frighten me, not for a second. I’m telling you, you won’t be going in that house, because I don’t want you to. If you go near it, I’ll bark. I told you, the mutt is me. I don’t care what happens to you. On your way, you’re boring me! Go wherever you like, but don’t come here, I forbid you to! You’ve got your knives, I’ve got my fists, we’re even. Come on, what are you waiting for!”

I’m ready to fight anyone who thinks “strong female characters” are a 21st century invention.

2. Which character do you most dislike?

I’m going to take this to not mean characters we’re supposed to dislike, so villains are out.51l2lzffzml-_sx299_bo1204203200_

Romeo. From Romeo and Juliet. I just…

Romeo: MY LIFE IS OVER!!! ROSALINE WON’T MARRY ME!!! EVERYTHING IS HORRIBLE AND I WILL NEVER BE HAPPY AGAIN!!!!

(Two hours later)

Romeo: YOU ARE SO PERFECT GIRL I JUST MET I HAVE NEVER SEEN A BEAUTIFUL GIRL UNTIL TONIGHT IN FACT YOU KNOW WHAT LET’S JUST GO AHEAD AND GET MARRIED

(a little while after that)

Romeo: JULIET IS DEAD BUT HUH SHE LOOKS REALLY GOOD BUT SHE’S DEAAADDDD HEH SHE REALLY DOES NOT LOOK DEAD THOUGH THAT’S AMAZING LOOK HOW PINK HER CHEEKS ARE BUT MY LIFE IS OVER WOAH IT ALMOST LOOKS LIKE SHE’S BREATHING OH WELL BETTER KILL MYSELF BECAUSE I CANNOT LIVE WITHOUT THIS GIRL I JUST MET

Those are all actual quotes from Shakespeare’s text, by the way.

3. If you could date a fictional character,whom would it be?

Hmm. Not gonna tell you. 😀 Gotta have some secrets.

4. If you could change a character in any way what would it be?

I had to think about this one. I feel like there have been a lot of books lately that I started reading, was intrigued by the plot, and then couldn’t finish because the protagonist was too bland. So really any of those.

5.What character made all the wrong choices which didn’t add anything to the story?

Intriguing question. Um…yeah that’s tough because usually you’re like “NO! DON’T DO IT!” but you understand why they had to. If not plot-wise, then at least thematically. Hmm…No. I don’t have an answer.

6. Which Character do you love to hate?

*calculates risk of mentioning Les Mis twice in one post* Looks like I’ll lose approximately 32 followers (Heh. As in 1832. Darn, I’ve just lost even more of you, haven’t I?) It’ll hurt, but not enough to prevent me.

IMG_0850Monsier and Madame Thenardier, so much! (I mean technically that’s two characters but what are you gonna do?)

All the characters in Les Mis are pretty complex—like real life people, neither all good nor all bad. But not these two. They are pure, unadulterated evil. They are the kind of criminals who rob dead people, and they are also good contenders for the “Worst Parents in Literature” award.

The pavement was not as hard to him as his mother’s heart.

(The mother being Madame T.)

“Well, I don’t know, but it seems to me that that’s your son.”

“Bah!” said Thenardier. “D’you think so?”

And off he went.

the_book_thief_by_markus_zusak_book_cover7. Favorite sidekick character with the most heart.

This one was easy. Rudy Steiner all the way!

8. What is your favorite fictional romantic relationship?

Oh, there are too many! And if non-canon ones count, we’ll be here all night. A small sad fact about me is that probably the majority of my ships will never be canon.

But to list a few (all canon ones):

  • Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe
  • Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters
  • Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy
  • Marius Pontmercy and Cosette Fauchelevent
  • Jane Eyre and Edward Rochester

9. Who do you think is the strongest character?

Bit broad, isn’t it? How on earth am I supposed to pick just like the strongest character in all of literature? That’s just…that just isn’t possible. I can think of so many that would qualify, but they’re too different to compare.

10. Best protagonist?

I’m sorry but once again I just can’t. It’s not gonna happen. No way I’d be able to begin to decide.

11. Whom do you tag?

I’ve been having a lot of success with leaving tags open lately. I was afraid at first that no one would actually end up doing it if I didn’t tag them, but that hasn’t been the case. So I’m leaving this open, and I’d really like you guys to do it (and link  in the comments if you do!) I’d love to hear your choices! (That is, if anyone is still even here at this point. I may be talking to an empty internet page if enough of you pressed your back buttons when I wouldn’t shut up about Les Mis. Ah well.)

I hope you guys appreciate that, with the exception of Romeo and Juliet, I own all of the books in this post but unless I happened to already have a picture of my copy, I found pictures on google because I am just that lazy.

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

50 thoughts on “The Character Book Tag!

  1. This is really beautiful, funny, and an entertaining good read! Éponine is such a powerful and complex character. I was thinking of doing an aerial silks performance to the song On My Own, because I love the pace and the tune of the song. Your writing was great for helping me try to “get into her shoes” and think about how her experiences have shaped her. If you could describe Éponine using three words, what would they be? 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I love Les Mis for the complexity and vividness of its characters, and Eponine has always been one of the most interesting for me. I’m not as familiar with the musical as I am with the book, but that song is absolutely beautiful!

      Describing people in three words is always so difficult! If I had to choose three, I suppose I’d say tough, cunning, and fearless. My favourite quote from the book regarding Eponine is: “Never among animals does the creature born to be a dove change into an osprey. That is only seen among men.”

      A long time ago, I reviewed a YA novel written from Eponine’s perspective, and in that review I talk a lot about the character—if you’re interested: https://overanalysingliterature.wordpress.com/2016/03/15/review-a-little-in-love/

      Thank you for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been told I blog about Les Mis too much. I am obsessed with it. I even have been I am too passionate when it comes to that story as well. Les Mis is just “I don’t even know how to explain” why it moves me the way it does

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very fun read. I love how you put your personality into your words. And something crazy is that I’ve never read dickens. I like to read a lot (especially older books and especially if they are about philosophy or mythology), but when I was a teenager we tried to read a tale of two cities in our English class. I didn’t even give it a chance. I read like 3 paragraphs and thought that it was too descriptive. But now that I’m not an immature teen(not much…) I bet i would like it now. I do like the plot of great expectations though, so that might be the one I read first

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Haha this is hilarious! Your abridged speech for Romeo is spot on! It’s so so silly. I never took Romeo seriously; it’s a tragedy first and foremost. I have to suppress a giggle when I hear people say that they want an undying love like Romeo and Juliet. Are you sure? The same is said of Wuthering Heights, and I really don’t agree with that either.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah, I definitely love that play, but as a tragedy! Not as the epitome of true love! And yes. Even though Wuthering Heights is a favourite of mine, again, it isn’t because “oh it’s so romantic!” No, it isn’t!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure this bit made some people laugh outrageously. I was rushed off my feet (well, computer-ing ability) by a very rambunctious toddler while I was in the middle of attempting to complete the publishing bit. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey, awesome post.
    Alright, I AM RIDICULOUSLY EXCITED to introduce you to a blogger who also……(drumroll please)… has a Les Mis obsession! *gasps theatrically*
    Okay, you might already follow her and there might be more Les Mis fans than I’d originally thought but it was worth the try.
    https://twistinthetaile.com/
    Enjoy!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you!!! I actually do follow her (one of the first blogs I followed) but I really appreciate it because I regularly stalk the Les Mis tag and you are completely correct in not thinking there are very many. :,(

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ha! I use Google ALL the time! I just never take pics of things myself, because I don’t feel like trying to mess with the camera while avoiding the toddler getting in on it, and trying to download the pics without the toddler getting into machinery and things he’s not supposed to be around… You get the idea. 🙂

    I would like to do this tag. (More interesting than some other ones I’ve seen…) Give me a few (17 zillion) minutes… 🙂

    Totally agree with not liking Romeo and Juliet. And it’s okay, I just accept that you’re a Les Mis fan and I happen to have never read it. Not for any real reason, other than I just haven’t. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s never been a case of “oh, I don’t like that because it was written 200 years ago,” or some other decision that isn’t really based on whether I think I’d actually like it or not. It’s mostly about time, and the fact it is a long book.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Can’t wait to read your answers! Sorry I didn’t respond sooner; silly WordPress thought this was spam. *Huge eye roll* I swear I have to check there constantly because legit comments are always ending up there.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually like the story, but not at all as a love story. It’s interesting to me as a tragedy, because if it hadn’t been for the whole feuding families thing, they would have just been stupid, irresponsible teenagers who would have matured eventually. But because the grownups were also stupid and irresponsible, they ended up being stupid, irresponsible DEAD teenagers. And I just like how the tragedy is partially from their own choices, partially from outside circumstances. But anyway! What bugs me is when people uphold it as the ultimate love story. It isn’t. It just isn’t.

      I’ve not seen that. I’m guessing you recommend it since you say you love it, though. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. It is a great study for tragedy, but I’m really weird with tragedies. If it’s all depressing all the time, I’ll be on such a downer for days. I need a tragedy to be somewhat bitter sweet, something good has to happen to counter act the sadness for me to enjoy it.
        It bugs me so SO much when people hold it up as the greatest love story ever!
        It wasn’t love, it was a crush, a teenage rebellion against their parents, let’s be honest here.
        Baz’ movies just have a really cool style to them. It’s really entertaining how he places the movie in a modern setting, yet still sicks to Shakespearian dialogue.
        Really cool contrast.
        I would recommend, so long as you go into the movie looking at it for what it is; entertainment.
        Too many people expect to be blown away in every sense by every movie these days. Somethings are just that, entertaining and fun.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Oh that sounds cool! That’s a good way to handle it because I mean you don’t want to sacrifice Shakespeare’s dialogue for the setting. And yeah, same with books, really. It’s ok for something to be pure entertainment!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You can’t really explain Baz Luhrmann’s style, it’s just something you have to see for yourself, he’s on of the people that, when you see one of his movies, you say “that’s a Baz movie!”
        Totally, half the time I would much rather watch something like Clueless (for the millionth time) instead of Game of Thrones or something equally as ‘epic’. Sometimes I just want to relax with something that’s light hearted and fun that I don’t have to get to invested in.

        Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

