Why, Hello!

In which I share with you guys what I’ve been working on.


First of all, I was blown away by the overwhelmingly lovely response that my last post received! Thank you guys for your wonderful comments. You guys are so amazing.

Second of all, I’ve missed you all! Calm down, Chloe. It’s only been three days. I’ve been working on my novel and also watching really random documentaries on Netflix for absolutely no reason. One of the reasons I usually write historical fiction is that it allows me to watch documentaries—something I love doing anyway—and call it research. Unfortunately, now that I’m writing my first non-historical novel, I’m having to call it what it is: binging on documentaries.

So it’s Sunday which means typically we would be doing a roundup, but I don’t necessarily feel like doing that right now.

So I thought, why don’t I tell you guys about what I’ve been working on, while you guys pretend to be interested? So much fun!

First of all, the working title which is subject to change is The Unfinished Works of Hugo Wray Tinble. 

Meet My Characters

So this is Hugo (I know, I know, but actually I had other names I was going to name him and my brother said I should name him Hugo). He is an INFJ. He loves to write but he’s not so good at finishing things. The only really good friend he ever had was Jemmie, and when they were 16 she moved to New York to stay with her grandparents for a while. It’s been almost four years since he’s seen her, and in that time he’s been desperately trying to write a novel so that he can show it to her when she comes back.

doodleFaceM3.jpg
Hugo Wray Tinble

And this is Jemmie. Her full name is Jemima Elspeth Adelard, after her great grandmother. But she has always gone by Jemmie. She’s an ESTP. She always loved reading, gaming, and listening to music. Unlike Hugo, she was adventurous and outgoing. She was slightly better than him at everything, but he didn’t mind because she never rubbed it in much. The one thing she wasn’t better at was writing, which she didn’t really like. She always took an interest in Hugo’s writing, though, and encouraged and supported him.

doodleFaceF1.jpg
Jemmie

While Jemmie was gone and Hugo was struggling to write something for her, she randomly wrote and published a novel. A really good novel. One Hugo has to struggle not to be jealous of. When he saw that she called herself “J. Elspeth Adelard” on the cover of her book, he worried that she may have changed; “J. Elspeth Adelard” sounded like a very serious, grown up person. When Jemmie finally returns, he fears this might be the case. It seems that his friend has changed a lot more than he has.

doodleFaceF1
J. Elspeth Adelard

 

Now you’ve met my characters and know who I’ve been hanging out with instead of you.

Maybe one of these days I’ll tell you what this book is actually about, and then maybe some day I’ll even share part of it with you. We shall see.

In the meantime, have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

(I noticed that for some reason when I posted this I had written “share part of it with one of you.” I am really not sure why it said that, because it isn’t what I meant. Anyway. Fixed that!)

 

33 thoughts on “Why, Hello!

    1. Thank you! Having personality types is so helpful for keeping characters consistent and knowing their strengths and weaknesses. Also keeps me from creating a bunch of characters who are too similar to each other. Jemmie is pretty friendly, I’m sure she’d love to be friends. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. No, not ignorant at all. I should have explained. They are personality types from the Meyers-Briggs Type Indicator. It scores you based on four traits: introversion/extroversion, intuition/sensing, thinking/feeling, and judging/perceiving. So, for example, I’m an INTJ which means that I am introverted, focus on patterns and possibilities, prefer logic to emotion, and take a more rigid and planned approach to life. Of course, people are a lot more than 4 letters, it gives you a pretty accurate idea of how someone views the world and makes decisions, which is why I use it heavily in creating my characters. 🙂

      Like

      1. Okay, that makes sense… I haven’t studied particular theories like that in detail, but I’ve heard of the idea, so I get it now. An interesting way to approach character creation.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This is an exciting post! I love the names. Is Jemmie short for something? Jemima? I really like it, it’s not a common name at all. Hugo (INFJ yussss) is one of my favourite names, and I think it’s lovely that you’re secretly paying homage to you-know-who 😛 I will look forward to reading this one day, and in the meantime, good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Funny you should say that, it is indeed short for Jemima! I guess I didn’t mention that in this post. I think she was named after a great-grandmother or something. Anyway, I’m not entirely sure Jemmie is a real name. I was looking at kind of tomboyish names and names that are traditionally boy names, and I was kind of thinking about Jimmy. And then Jemmie just popped into my head. Glad you like it. 🙂

      When I was looking at names for him I kept seeing “Hugo.” I wrote it on my list but I wasn’t sure about it, and when I told my brother some of the names I was thinking about he was like: “Hugo. Definitely.” Anyway, thanks again!

      Like

      1. I love the name Jemima! Mainly from my childish love of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang haha, but I do also just think it’s a lovely name. And I think “Jemmie” sounds adorable.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Your characters and their backstory are fantastic and vivid–which is saying a lot, since you didn’t tell us much. There are so many neat directions I can imagine you taking them, and I’m kind of dying over here wondering what the plot ACTUALLY is. I can’t wait to hear more. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like the title, too. Sorry, but I think you already revealed some of what it’s actually about. 😉 I took a chance and posted some of my original work on my site…no one said they hated it so I guess it was a success. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m really liking the title for your book! I find Hugo’s character to be really relatable (and an INFJ, just like me!) I wonder what made Jemmie change. This looks promising 🙂 I’d be really excited to see this come together and hopefully read it someday!

    Liked by 2 people

What are your thoughts?

