“Didn’t she JUST do this?” “Yes. Yes she did.”

In which I rearrange my bookshelf. And yes, I did literally just do this a few posts ago. 


Note to self: stop talking about yourself in third person as though two unknown entities are discussing you. It’s weird and confusing, and if you must do it, at least do not do it in post titles. 

Hello everyone! I know I just rearranged my entire bookshelf, but last night I ended up pulling everything off and doing it all over again. All because I brought just one book home. Just one. That was all it took.

Because I loved All The Bright Places so much, I had to own it. I want to be able to go back, reread it when I’m a little less emotional because I know for sure what’s coming, and annotate the heck out of that thing. It was an amazing book, and I think it can stand it.

So I brought it home, and I couldn’t help but notice how well these two looked together, with their white and yellow.

IMG_1622.JPG

So I just slid All The Bright Places right in there between The Fault in Our Stars and Much Ado About Nothing. But that just wasn’t really good enough.

20160508_111710.jpgNext thing I know, I’m once again surrounded by piles of books. I didn’t take a picture this time, but it was basically the same thing as last time, so I’ll just show you a picture of that in case you’ve forgotten.

Except it was actually worse than last time, because you may or may not know this, but I have other shelves around my room too. Smaller shelves that contained a few books. And I just had this thought that maybe I could get most of my books onto my actual bookshelf. And so all those books joined the stacks too.

It was a mess, and I knew it. I couldn’t find an arrangement I was happy with, and I couldn’t go to bed until I’d fixed the problem, because if there was an emergency in the middle of the night and I had to run out of my room, I didn’t want to step on my books. Not because I might trip and fall or anything, just because that might mess up my books. Bend a cover or something. Not great.

But finally, finally, I got them all on there in an arrangement I liked. It’s the most books I’ve ever been able to fit on my shelf, and I couldn’t be happier.

Of course, there’s still this little situation going on:

IMG_1623.JPG
My name is blurry photographer and I don’t care what you think.

But I’m not worried about it, so you shouldn’t be either, because that would be weird. It’s my room. Stop being concerned about my stacks of books.

But other than that, I’m extremely happy with how my book collection is currently displayed. By the time you’ve gotten this far, you might not even care anymore. I think I just noticed like ten of you hit the back button on your browser. Those of you who are still here are probably marvelling at how prodigious I am at stretching out the most trivial of things. Thank you. It’s my specialty.

Anyway, here’s what my shelf looks like now. First of all, here’s the two that started that whole upheaval, together, where they belong:

IMG_1616
Behold the beauty. Don’t you go telling me that wasn’t worth it.

Here’s a view of the whole thing:

IMG_1613

The ridiculous tower of black/grey books:

IMG_1612

First and second shelf:

IMG_1615.JPG

Fourth and third shelves:

IMG_1619

Some Things I Did To Save Space:

Found out how many books Jane Austen can hold. (Spoiler alert: A LOT.)

IMG_1624.JPG

Put books in front of books.

IMG_1626.JPG
And because they’re little, they don’t even block the other books. And they’re all blue and it’s lovely. It is.

Stacked books this way:

IMG_1620.JPG

This is one I was hesitant to do, because although it is hands down the most space-efficient way to store books, it also prevents you from seeing the spines. But I arranged the books around it so that I can still tell what books are there, so it works out.

You might be able to use some of these tips if you’re like me and have limited space but lots of books/aspirations of owning more books.

 

Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

19 thoughts on ““Didn’t she JUST do this?” “Yes. Yes she did.”

  1. I just came across your blog and when I read this article, I just had to say something. I do that sort of thing probably more than I should, especially when I buy new books (always plural! I can never go into a bookstore and come out with only one book, no matter how tight my finances might be). Unfortunately, however, I’ve recently come to the conclusion that I had to fet rid of quite a few of my books- literally no more space on the shelves, I’ve actually been forced to put some into drawers because there is no more room…It wasn’t an easy decision. If it’s one thing I can horde quite well, it’s books but I finally had to sit down, take out all the books and place them on the floor and go through each and every one, asking myself do I really need this book? How many times have I pulled it out and reread it more than once and how much enjoyment/pleasure have I derived from it? It was easy to put aside my favorites- they stay no matter what. The others were rather hard. I was always undecided and even when I put aside those books I chose to give away, I kept going back, uncertain, cursing my lack of space and wishing I could just keep every one of them. I’ve always loved reading and ever since I was a kid I’d already dreamed of having my very own private library but alas!

    But seriously, it really is hard to get rid of a book, even if I haven’t read it in a while.

    Anyway, I just wanted to say that. Also, I like the way you set up your books on the shelves. I always just put mine the regular way and then just stacked them on top of each other when there was no more room.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sometimes one book is all it takes.

    “[…] if there was an emergency in the middle of the night and I had to run out of my room, I didn’t want to step on my books. Not because I might trip and fall or anything, just because that might mess up my books. Bend a cover or something.”

    Ha! I love your priorities. 🙂

    Congrats on the gorgeous arrangement! And your collection of classics is lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Woah woah okay, first of all you have beautiful books I would be arranging them all the time as well, secondly that All The Bright places copy is so cool I feel sorry for mine now and that Much Ado About Nothing! Amazing, loved it :))

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Got to say Chloe, I’m impressed with this book shelf. Looks a whole lot better than mine! 🙂
    Also, I’ve spotted Gone With the Wind, and that’s been on my tbr for basically forever. What are your thoughts on it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’ve read Gone With the Wind four times, so that tells you that I like it. Most of what I know about the American Civil War, I learned from this book. It’s got a very sweeping, grand feel to it, and it’s very fast-paced—doesn’t feel like a long book. There are some problematic elements because it was written in the 20th century South. This leaves a lot to be discussed about, for example, how black characters are portrayed (spoiler alert unless you know anything about the American South: pretty much not good, though I think with the character of Mammy, Margaret Mitchell was at least trying.) I think part of what I like about this book is that there are some really good, quietly strong characters in it (Ellen, Melly and her friends…) but instead of being in the POV of one of them, we see it through the eyes of the tough-as-nails but pretty awful human being, Scarlett O’Hara. It just adds a whole other level of interestingness to it, because you end up sympathising with her even though she’s not a nice person in any sense of the word.

      Wow. I think you were looking for more like “I liked it!” or “I’d give it a 4/5 and definitely recommend it.” Instead you got basically a post in a comment. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I really want to read it now! Oh wow. See, I read this book called How to Be a Heroine by Samantha Ellis like 2 years ago, and she talks about all these books she’s read and how the heroines changed her. Scarlet O’Hara is one of them. So I saw it in the bookshop a few months ago and thought what the hey, might as well. And the cover is of the beautiful Vivian Leigh. I’m going to read it soon though! It sounds great.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Whenever it’s on TV I always catch the end of the movie, so I haven’t watched all of it. 😦

        But I’ll aim to watch the full movie soon.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my gosh, I love your narrative/self commentary! Lol! And I can so relate to the limited space, and not wanting to accidentally hurt books (my toes will survive, but the books, think of the books!). At the moment my shelves are holding a combination of things, so some of my books have needed to be re-arranged, or put in storage temporarily. My major issue is a general lack of shelves around the house. Hopefully that will soon be remedied. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That blurry picture tho. 😂😂😂
    I completely understand that you had to rearrange everything for a single book, and I love organising, so this was a very enjoyable post. 😊
    I can’t believe you put books in front and on top of each other tho – I mean, what if you need to get to one of the books?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s not as difficult to get to the bottom books as you might think. Although, when I’m in a hurry to find a specific quote or something, I have been known to yank you the bottom book and deal with the avalanche later.

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

