One Lovely Blog Award!

In which I share such deeply engrossing facts as my strange relationship with light bulbs. 


Thank you so much for nominating me, Mystery Date With A Book! Her blog is most certainly a lovely blog, and if you haven’t checked it out yet, you must! I try not to tell people how to live their lives, but when it comes to awesome blogs, sometimes I can’t help it.

one-lovely-blog-award1_rules

So those are the rules, and I’m going to try my best to follow them.

7 Things About Myself

  1. Neither myself nor my blog can accurately be described as lovely. (I’m not being self-deprecating, I really mean it. I’m many things, but lovely ain’t one.)
  2. I always read cereal boxes and instruction manuals, but they’re never long enough.
  3. I will try almost any food.
  4. The only recurring nightmare I ever have is that all the light bulbs in the house have gone out and I cannot replace them.
  5. Light bulbs and I just have a very strange relationship though, when I think about it. When I was a caregiver, I used to get involved in the weirdest light bulb-related situations. No idea why, but it happened. A lot.
  6. I can do many things, but making eye contact with store clerks ain’t one.
  7. I don’t know that I ever say “ain’t” in real life, but I’m a huge believer in occasionally throwing out an “ain’t” here and there on this blog.

My Nominees

I keep going back and forth. Is it better to leave these open to everyone or is it better to nominate specific people? Oh well.

I NOMINATE EVERYONE!!!!!!!!! YES, THAT MEANS YOU, TOO!!!!!!!!

If you’ve already done it/don’t want to, that’s okay. Your blogs are just so lovely and all deserve awards.

(Let me know in the comments if you prefer when people leave nominations open, or when they nominate specific people. I want to discuss this.)

Have a lovely day!
Signature Fonts

36 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award!

  1. Haha from all these comments it seems you’ve been outvoted on the loveliness fact! I will add my two cents even though so many people have already – you are absolutely lovely and so is your blog! Unless you don’t want to be known as lovely, it’s not everyone’s favourite identifier … in which case I will say you are “thoughtful and engaging” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That light bulb nightmare is so random. 😂
    I personally prefer specific nominations, especially for awards. I mean, you can do tags even if you weren’t nominated, but awards … that’s like stealing an Oscar instead of winning one. 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey now, I’m new to your blog and I’ll deem it 100% lovely.

    What’s the weirdest food you’ve ever tried? Anything you’ve tried and immediately regretted? (I’m not particularly adventurous, myself, but I love hearing other people’s food stories!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thank you!

      Hmm, weirdest food… Probably chocolate-covered ants. I will just never look at a bug and think it’s appetising, but they were pretty good. Or many baby octopuses, because eating baby anythings seems wrong. I don’t think I’ve ever regretted eating anything. Even if I didn’t like it, I’m always glad I tried it.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I think the chocolate would definitely help me stomach (heh) eating ants, but I’ll steer clear anyway. And awww, baby octopuses *pets them.* I love octopuses too much to eat them.

        Glad to hear you’ve never regretted your adventurousness!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Chloe, I beg to differ. Your blog IS lovely. Take it from me 🙂
    See, I don’t know about nominating bloggers. Sometimes I just want to nominate everyone and hate it when I’m limited, and sometimes I nominate the same bloggers again and again. I never know.
    Also, about this recurring nightmare. Are these light bulbs symbolic? Do you ever get to replace the light bulbs, or are you stuck with eternal darkness?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aww thanks! Haha.

      See, it always completely makes my day to be nominated, so I want to give others that feeling, but at the same time I don’t want to cause the opposite and make others feel bad because I always nominate the same people.

      *Gasp* they could be symbolic. And no, I never get to replace them. So that’s probably not good…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I completely see what you mean by that. I do get pretty happy when I’m nominated, and I’d love if I could make other people feel the same by nominating them. It is difficult to know who has already been nominated too.

        Uh oh… prhaps we should consult a dream interpreter about this one.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly!!!

        (By the way, I nominate you for this award. I mean, I nominated everyone, but here is a specific nomination.)

        You know, there’s definitely something with old people and light bulbs because, like I said, the light bulb related situations I got into while caregiving, I tell ya… And I’m an old person at heart, so. Is this relevant? I don’t know. Could be.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Aw! See, I think it’s to do with being singled out for nominations. Now you’ve said that, it’s just made my day. Thanks for that!

        What type of situations are we talking about? *acquires popcorn* I do have some creepy stories to do with light bulbs.

        Liked by 2 people

      4. You are so welcome! Oh, there were so many. One time, I was taking care of this gentleman and he noticed one of the bulbs on the lamp was out and went to go get one to fix it. I thought it was going to be a good thing for him, because it really helps when they can do the kind of thing they used to do. But then he couldn’t find the lightbulb, so I helped him look in a few closets. And then pretty soon “them boys across the river” were counting on us to bring them a lightbulb. He was starting to stress about it, and I didn’t know what to do, but finally told him that it was his day off and “the boys” said they would take care of it. That worked. So that was one lightbulb incident.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Oh wow. Did they find the light bulb in the end, or did you not find out?
        My light bulb story is a bit….eerie. Are you sure you want to know?

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Right, I’ll begin.
        A few years ago, I was up really late one night, when I decided I had to go to the toiler. Then I noticed something.
        The light was switching on and off. On and off. On and off. I was beyond creeped. It terrified me.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. The whole lightbulbs bit almost made me spit out mt tea. 🙂

    My thoughts on specific vs. broad and far-reaching nominations: It’s better to leave the nominations wide open, unless there are certain people that you feel really deserve a shout-out (and maybe it’s their first nomination, you think pushing their blog will help them/you/others…). I’ve found that individual nominations can be a pain in the neck. It’s tough to know who has/hasn’t already done the whole award thing, and if they even want to, and in fact would they even thank you for it? Leaving it open – especially when you’re trying to accumulate MANY (like 20 or so people) – makes it easier/generally better… Some people love it to know that one person thinks so much of their blog. Others don’t find it necessary to do the award thing at all. Some will even (!) take offense at being nominated.

    Just my ideas…

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

