3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge | Day Two

In which I share a quote from Fitzgerald’s novel The Beautiful and Damned, along with an irrelevant thing you  are not required to care about. 


It’s day two of the 3 days, 3 quotes challenge! Don’t worry, I’m not going to give you a long story this time.

My Quote

This quote is taken from F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Beautiful and Damned.

“You’re a quaint little determinist,” laughed Anthony. “It’s your world, isn’t it?”

“Well—” she said with a quick upward glance, “isn’t it? As long as I’m—young.”

She had paused slightly before the last word and Anthony suspected that she had started to say “beautiful.” It was undeniably what she had intended.

This has always struck me as the 1920s epitomised. I suppose it also reflects the place of women in society at that time. The world belonged to them as it never had before, but only if they were young and beautiful. (By the way, if you haven’t read The Beautiful and Damned, you ought to.)

My Nominees

I’m sure most people have done this, but I don’t know who exactly has and hasn’t done this, and so I’m having a lot of trouble with tagging. Oh well. If you’ve already done it and don’t want to do it again, just ignore this.

  1. Mystery Date With A Book
  2. anhistorianabouttown
  3. limdir
  4. And, as always, everyone who wants to do it.

I am the worst at tagging, so please forgive me if I didn’t tag you.


In Other News That You Do Not Have to Care About

I’m growing my hair out.

It may not look like much, but it’s the longest it’s been in over a year. You don’t have to care, (and frankly it would be a little weird if you cared too much about someone else’s hair) but I felt like telling you anyway.

Okay, that’s all.  Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

11 thoughts on “3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge | Day Two

  1. Great quote! I think if I could go back in time for a day I would choose to spend in the 1920s… There’s something so seductive about the Jazz Age and those amazing flapper dresses. Love the hair by the way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh for sure, I wouldn’t want to live there permanently. Just one day to dress exquisitely and do some old-school dancing would suit me! (That is, if I could actually dance without face-planting. Which I can’t.)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely quote 🙂 I’ve read The Great Gatsby before, and I’ve been wanting to read The Beautiful and Damned too. I started reading This Side of Paradise a while ago, but for some reason I didn’t finish it (not because it wasn’t good).

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

