Because I Have Inadequate Respect for Relaxing Mornings

In which I rearrange my entire bookshelf and pay a visit to the bookstore. 


I love the idea of a relaxing Sunday morning, I do. I just don’t really do the whole relaxing thing in general. When I hear “relaxing,” I automatically think, “boring.” Yeah. I just do not do that. So instead of relaxing on my Sunday morning, I decided to do this.

20160508_111710.jpg

Yeah. I pulled them all off the shelf. All of them. And yeah, it was kind of stressful.

I had to make room for The Jungle Book as well as an awesome book about Sherlock which my lovely friend mailed me the other day.

It took me an hour, but I finally got all the books on the shelf. Well, not all the books, because I still have a couple little stacks and there are a few books on my other little shelves, but all the books that belong on the bookshelf are on the bookshelf.

 

There is still some room on there, so if I want to add books in the future, I have that option.

And so this evening, my brother and I went to the bookstore!

IMG_1506.JPG
We show how happy we are to be at the bookstore by looking terrified/weirded out

I tried to get out of my classics-section comfort zone and poked about in the YA section for a bit. I saw a book by Marcus Zusak: I Am The Messenger. I’ve seen it around, but I just never paid it much attention for some reason. But today I was like, this is ridiculous. I loved The Book Thief so much. I need to at least look at this. So I picked it up, read the back, and flipped to the first sentence.

I nearly dropped it.

The gunman is useless.

A long time ago, my awesome high school English teacher recommended me this book. She couldn’t remember the title, but she told me the first line. I forgot to look it up, and so I was so overjoyed to stumble upon it that way. Infinitely more satisfying than googling it would have been.

I can’t wait to read this book. Has anyone else read it?

IMG_1507.JPG

So yes. Sorry for posting twice in one day, but it’s not like I don’t do that on a regular basis, so I must not be that sorry.

Have a lovely day!
Signature Fonts

14 thoughts on “Because I Have Inadequate Respect for Relaxing Mornings

  1. I haven’t read “I am the Messenger,” but I’ve heard nothing bu good things about it. And I totally understand how you feel about “relaxing.” I can only take so much “relaxing” before I feel like a miserable glob of a human.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah, I need to read I am The Messenger like now. Big fan of The Book Thief here! I’ve heard it’s nothing like The Book Thief, or anything close to that genre. And it’s not young adult? I’m not sure, don’t quote me on that. Still looks really promising though!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LOL…Chloe, I love this! I’ve done the tear-all-the-books-off-the-shelves-and-completely-rearrange-everything bit, too (more than once, which probably indicates something not good about me!). Hope you enjoy your unexpected find!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read it yet, so here’s the description:

      Ed Kennedy is an underage cabdriver without much of a future. He’s pathetic at playing cards, hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey, and utterly devoted to his coffee-drinking dog, the Doorman. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery.

      That’s when the first ace arrives in the mail.

      That’s when Ed becomes the messenger.

      Chosen to care, he makes his way through town helping and hurting (when necessary) until only one question remains: Who’s behind Ed’s mission?

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

