The Blogger Recognition Award

In which I share the super interesting (in the most sarcastic sense of the phrase) origin story and give advice to new bloggers. 


Thank you so very much noteablepad! Please do check out her blog, everyone. It’s a truly lovely blog, she does great reviews, and I just really enjoy following her so I know you will too. Trust me on this and go follow.

 

blogger-recognition-award (1).jpg

Rules:

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two advice to new bloggers
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

Okay then, let’s get started!

Origin Story

I don’t know, do most people have like really cool stories behind their blogs? I…hmm. Well okay. I’ll just tell you guys but please don’t expect anything exciting.

It was approximately 2:06 A.M. and I was lying in bed, trying to sleep/staring at the ceiling thinking about how obsessed I am with Les Miserables and how great it is and how much I love it and how everyone should love it as much as I do because they should, and also how much fun my brother has youtubing. (By the way you should totally check out his channel and subscribe. He’s hilarious. And we’re not too big on complimenting each other just to be nice around here.)

Anyway, I knew I lacked the essential qualities of a youtuber (funniness, video editing skillz, personality…) But I thought, wouldn’t it be great if I did a blog? I have so many opinions about Les Miserables books. I could call it “Over-Analysing Literature”—No, better: “(Over)Analysing Literature.” (Always use parentheses if you can. It’s just a good life rule. Don’t ask why.)

My initial plan was to be a Les Mis blog but like, “not” a Les Mis blog because I didn’t want anyone to get scared away by my obsessiveness. Interestingly enough, I’ve barely posted about Les Mis, so I guess I legitimately can tell you now that I am not a Les Mis blog. You guys have been lucky so far, but just you wait. One day, you’ll wake up to a flood of posts in your reader and it will be analyses of all the Les Mis characters. (And there are a lot of characters in that book. So yes.)

I didn’t know anything about book blogging and I still don’t really. I just kind of have fun over here and post what I want to post.

That’s actually pretty much it. I wanted to blog, didn’t expect anyone to read my blog, and made a blog. But then you guys showed up from goodness only knows where and stuck around for goodness only knows what reasons. I love you guys for that, but it seriously confuses me every day. Every. Day. I still dance every time I get a comment. Or even a like. And I throw a full on party every time I get a follower. Sadly no one comes to my parties except Trigger, my golden. My other dog Zoe doesn’t even come. So sad.

This, by the way, is what is known as a “This was supposed to be a brief story and I said I didn’t even have a story and still managed to write you a 5 paragraph essay” story. And it is my specialty.

Advice to New Bloggers

Oh dear. See, I don’t do advice. I really don’t. When people ask me for advice, I laugh in their face until they get uncomfortable and edge away. I feel like one has to have things under control and be at least moderately successful at, you know, living and stuff to give advice. I’m currently sitting in the dark because I’m too lazy to get up and turn the light on. That’s my life. So, you know. Fair warning.

Advice #1

Don’t pay too much attention to what everyone else is doing. If every book blogger did the same thing as every other book blogger, then why not just have one book blogger and the rest of us can just nap or whatever with our spare time? That said, don’t worry too much about standing out either. If you want to do something that a lot of other people have done, go ahead and do that. Just basically do whatever you want. It’s your blog and hopefully no one is forcing you to do this. Because that would be really rude of them.

Advice #2

Don’t worry about stats. I don’t even look at my stats anymore unless I happen to glance at it when I’m on that page. It just doesn’t really matter, especially when you’re a new blogger. Instead of refreshing your stats over and over, spend time writing quality content and visiting other blogs. Don’t just follow them and hope they follow back. Read their posts. Comment. Don’t just comment: “Great post!” Start discussions. Be relevant and insightful, but concise (I can hear you guys laughing that I, of all people, would dare to tell anyone to be concise. Shut it.) Those stats will rise, but it takes time. And who cares what your stats are anyway? I don’t care what your stats are. I care about your content. And obviously I think my opinions matter because I blog about them. So yeah.

Nominees

You are all so beautiful and it’s ridiculous that I have to pick. But oh well. At least I get to choose 15! One time it was 4 and I nearly died.

  1. sadaptation 
  2. Mystery Date With A Book
  3. Bailey
  4. piezoradeon
  5. Natalie
  6. illuminatedliteration
  7. limdir
  8. Anushka H. 
  9. theworldisnotagainstme
  10. fluffychinchilla
  11. anhistorianabouttown
  12. trulyunplugged
  13. Ravenclaw Book Club
  14. sunshineandstyles
  15. Intentergy 

(Notice I did the pingback thing this time. So technology.) If you’ve already been tagged/just don’t want to do it, that’s okay! Additionally, if I didn’t tag you and you’re like “Well thanks Chloe, I’d love to have done that and now I can’t because you were a jerk and didn’t tag me!” It’s okay because you can still do it! That’s right! I nominated everybody, but I also nominated 15 people.

All nominees are equal, but some nominees are more equal than others. (Did you see my Animal Farm reference? You did. Okay.)

That’s all! As always, you are my favourite person if you actually read this. Have a lovely day!

Signature Fonts

26 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Very cool to hear about why you started the blog. And Animal Farm is my FAVORITE. “I will work harder” 😥 soo sad but soo good. Thanks for the nomination! My post will be up soon! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loving the Animal Farm reference! I often use it and no one around me understands, and I just shake my head because I’m around such uncultured people. *shakes head*
    Really great advice too! Stats don’t matter, and once you stop looking at them you can enjoy the whole blogging process a whole lot more.
    Also, thank you!! 🙂 blushing girl over here!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe I use it all the time too and my brother is the only one who ever gets it. Yeah, once I stopped caring so much about my stats I just felt so much better about blogging. And shhh, not something to be thankful about, just truth. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lucky! Nobody wants to hear my literary references. So I just keep them all to myself. Until I started blogging of course.

        😀 Yup. Literally dying over here.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, and don’t worry about the tagging, as someone else did it for me… But thank you for thinking of the torches and pitchforks your subscribers will haul out if you didn’t qualify that statement. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, a while ago I saw a few posts that had many repeats of tagging – not that it’s a bad thing, as it shows that person is well-liked/well-read…but it also opens up more chances for others to try not to repeat.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry, not even read the post yet… Just had to say I saw the new look right away…. Very clean lines and easy to read… Are you still in the process of “re-decorating” or are you set for now?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks so much for the nomination Chloe! I am just off to bed now (early morning appointments, bleggghh) but I will look forward to doing this tomorrow! I love the new look of your blog by the way, very sleek and professional 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey! Thanks for the nomination!
    Just got something to write Was having a writers block ( wept to sleep last night!)
    I wake up in the morning and! Whoaa! Thanks to you, I no have something to write about!

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

