Booket List

In which I participate in a cute tag idea that Mystery Date With A Book started. 


Hello there. It’s been a few days and it feels like an eternity. I just spent a couple hours getting caught up on the blog posts in my reader because I’ve gotten so behind. Nicely done, all of you. Lovely posts; it was well worth it to catch up.

I’ve only been gone two days but somehow it feels like longer. I’ve got rather a lot to say and I’m not entirely sure where to begin, and I probably won’t say most of it because some of it has nothing to do with anything. Probably most of it has nothing to do with anything.

Maybe I should start with an excuse: I’ve not been well the past week, and the last few days have been particularly bad. I just haven’t really felt up to posting.

Besides been unwell, I’ve also been avoiding my blog because—well it’s a bit of a mess right now, isn’t it? I haven’t been able to fix the fonts. I just can’t. Free version of WordPress just doesn’t give you that many customisation options. I ought to just scrap the background, but I’ve been too lazy for that. Tomorrow, maybe.

Anyway, it’s kind of like when you manage to find things you have to do outside of the house to avoid the mess inside (other people do this, I hope, otherwise I sound like a crazy person right now). Eventually, you have to suck it up, go back in, and put things in order as best you can. Or burn it to the ground, hang the consequences. I’ve enjoyed blogging too much to burn it to the ground just yet, so I’m back.

I don’t like posting without a real excuse, but thankfully I had something on my blogging to do list. The lovely Mystery Date With A Book came up with this awesome “Booket List” tag. So that’s what I’m going to do today.

My Booket List

[ ] Finish writing my current novel (top priority!)

[ ] Reread every book on my bookshelf

[ ] Review ten books this year (I set my sights low, I know. Helps my self-esteem.)

[ ] Finish War and Peace (it’s embarrassing that I’ve still got my bookmark like, not even a quarter of the way in, three years later)

[ ] Acquire copies of all the books I really loved, but still don’t own

[ ] Rate every book I’ve ever read on Goodreads.

 

I’m really bad at this, but at least I took a stab at it. I tag all my fellow book bloggers who are reading this.

Other news items:

  • Saw The Jungle Book last night. It was wonderful! I recommend it so much!
  • Instead of reading all the books on my TBR, I’ve been very slowly re-reading 1984. I’m reading a lot slower than I used to these days, esp. when I reread.
  • I’ve slipped back into old habits and am watching way too much Netflix. So addicted to Blue Bloods.

And what else? That’s about it, I think. I start my new job no later than May 12, and so in the meantime I’ve got a bit of time off. That’s been nice. I think that’s all.

Thank you for your patience, and I hope to get back to a regular schedule soon.

I hope you have a lovely day!
Signature Fonts

14 thoughts on “Booket List

  1. I started War and Peace a couple of times, but couldn’t get into it. It’s on my list of books I have to read this year, I’ve had it on my bookshelf for years so it’s about time for me to finally read it.
    Good luck with your novel!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hah, not sure where I’d start my list… Actually, been working through a version of it for a few years now. Good luck accomplishing everything, and getting back to what you really want to do (for the blog, for organization, for stuff). Been there with feeling like it’s all a little too much!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi, Chloe, so glad to know that you are feeling better…the “tyranny of the urgent” can be so very daunting….but, wow, you sure are a go-getter! Your determination will continue to serve you (and, the rest of us) well…your blog is awesome and you are appreciated 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Your booket list sounds remarkably like my own (are you secretly my long lost twin?) – except, let’s replace War and Peace with Anna Karenina (it’s probably been 3 years since I put that one down), and that list is virtually my own.

    And also, I really do hope you post everyday! I need my daily dose of Chloe or I’ll get withdrawal symptoms, and that’s not great at all. I’m sorry that you’ve been feeling unwell. We do need our breaks from blogging sometimes- so that’s completely okay. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Nah, we don’t all have to post every day! It’s just because I’m a spammer. Seriously, I reached fifty posts before fifty days. That’s not an accomplishment. Don’t be me. Don’t be a spammer. 😉

      Like

What are your thoughts?

