Real Neat Blog Award

In which I answer some questions, discover what “sleep” is, and reveal my probable cause of death.


Thank you so much for nominating me, noteablepad! If you guys haven’t been to her blog, you really ought to! It’s an absolutely wonderful blog. (And so pretty too! Love the header image and background and colours.) She’s given me some really interesting questions to answer (can’t guarantee my answers will be similarly interesting) and I’m very excited!

I’ve never been nominated for this one before, but the rules look pretty simple.

Rules

  • Thank and link the blogger that nominated you.
  • Answer the 7 questions that the nomination has provided you.
  • Create 7 questions for your nominees.
  • Nominate 7 other bloggers.

Questions

Quick! The Epitome of Evil in the world is burning your books! What do you do?

Burn the Epitome of Evil. Obviously. *grins darkly*

You wake up one morning with no memories, but only one book holds the key to your memories. Which book is that?

Intriguing question. Well, it’s kind of funny: since I read everywhere I go, books are intrinsically tied up with my memories. At each part of the book, I remember where I was and what was going on the last time I was reading it, and the time before that. For books that I’ve read a lot of times, I have a lot of memories tied to them. So when I read Little Women, I can remember…

  • being nine years old at a baby shower, reading in a quiet corner
  • sitting alone at recess as a ten year old and being startled by a kickball hitting me in the head
  • sitting alone in the cafeteria as a thirteen year old and trying to concentrate despite the noise
  • driving through Idaho, Oregon, and Utah last year.

If I lost all my memories, probably the first thing I’d do is sit down next to my bookshelf, and read. I’d start with the most worn books, because those ones have been read the most—perhaps as many as ten times. Perhaps even more. I would work my way through all of my books, thinking that surely some memory would surface.

Of course, if I lost all my memories, I might not think to do that at all.

I realise this answer bore only the loosest relation to the question. I’m sorry.

What book do you wish never ended?

All the sad books, because their endings kill me. But also…

Well, you guys know, and I hear you sighing and rolling your eyes. (That’s right. I can hear your eye-rolls. So watch it.) I just wish I could have stayed with those characters forever, in that miserable—but also beautiful—book.

What time do you sleep (if you sleep at all)?

Hang on, I’m not really familiar with this. Let me google it.

Capture

Huh. So it’s kind of like temporary death? I’m intrigued. I researched further, and it seems most people need about seven hours a night? That’s ridiculous. I’m not doing that.

If you could visit any country in the world, where would you go?

Every country. All of them. Shh. I’m allowed to answer the questions however I want.

What’s your favourite childhood movie?

I had a different one every five minutes, as children are wont to do. But I have particularly fond memories of watching Black Beauty with my grandma, so I’ll go with that one.

What would your last words be, if you had a choice?

I would want them to be very deep and meaningful, or at the very least, witty or clever. But I have a feeling I’m going to end up choking to death because I’m always too impatient to chew my food properly. Which would be quite awful, because then I won’t get to have any last words at all. Thus, I would take this opportunity to craft some perfectly exquisite last words for the future, but I have a feeling they will be wasted.

My Questions

Fair warning: I’m not as good at questions as noteablepad is.

  1. Black tea, green tea, or herbal tea?
  2. Dark or milk chocolate? If dark, what percent? (If you like 90% dark, you’re my new favourite person because most people think I’m crazy for liking that.)
  3. If you could choose one fictional character to impart their skills to you, who would it be?
  4. Describe your dream library.
  5. Favourite way to cook eggs?
  6. How do you take your coffee?
  7. What’s your favourite kind of doughnut?

I’m sorry so many of them were food related. All I’ve had to eat today is a cup-o-soup and some saltine crackers. 

My Nominees

Everyone! I’m sorry guys. I’m really lazy and I don’t feel well. But I do mean everyone. As always, feel free to answer in the comments if you don’t want to do a post.

I’m going to read for a bit and then try this sleep thing for about ten years.

Signature Fonts

9 thoughts on “Real Neat Blog Award

  1. All right, the questions:
    1. Black tea. With milk and sugar.
    2. Milk chocolate. But I don’t think you’re crazy for liking the dark.
    3. This is a tough one. I guess…any of the (not evil) professors in Harry Potter.
    4. First, it would be the size of my house now. Then it would have YA/fantasy fiction, historical fiction, academic critiques of all the said works (well, where ones have been written), and everything ever published by Erma Bombeck and Dave Barry.
    5. Scrambled. Maybe fried. My husband’s the better cook on eggs.
    6. Not very often. Too much coffee is bad for me, and my body thinks more than a cup a week is bad. But when I do, it’s just with milk and sugar. And I prefer flavored coffee (vanilla usually).
    7. Apple fritter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, do try the sleep thing…hope you feel better.

    LOL to the kickball in the head…sorry. 🙂

    I also re-read certain books (including Little Women) so many times that I too would start with books and see what helped bring my memories of my life back.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! It’s not a big deal, just something I deal with from time to time…haha, I was talking about not feeling well but it applies to the kickball too! 😀 I’m sure this is something that’s true of a lot of people who read a lot. I’m going to take a survey sometime.

      Like

  3. Your answers, as always, made me laugh (which I why I was really looking forward to them). I especially loved the first answer (would definitely be my answer too). Sorry, Epitome of Evil, not going to sit back and watch my books burn like the Library of Alexandria. And your answer to the second question is so accurate! If I ever lost my memories, I’d just reread my books- I don’t know if anyone else gets this, but at times when I’m reading a favourite again, I start to see the person I was the last time I read that book. What I was doing, what was going on in my life at the time, where I was… I have the memory of a fish, but books help me to remember everything.

    Also, thank you so much for your kind words! Means so much to me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for nominating me and coming up with such interesting questions! I really had a lot of fun answering them. Books are so inseparably folded into my life, and I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one. (And I also have the memory of a fish, haha!) Thank you for being such an awesome blogger!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so glad you enjoyed it 🙂 And no, I have to thank you for being an awesome blogger! Your posts always bring a smile to my face.

        Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

