Getting Rid of Books (*Collective Gasp*)

In which I talk about getting rid of books one doesn’t need, and say farewell to some that have to go. 


cc409f8f45cca01bbcd62106178c5af1
Source: Pinterest

 

I agree with this picture. But there’s a catch.
You can’t have too many books as long as you love every single book you have. If you don’t love it, guess what? It’s okay to get rid of it.

I end up with so many random books, because I cannot resist a book. I’ll have people text me saying they’re getting rid of a book and would I—?

YES! I WANT IT! GIVE IT TO ME!

Plus, if a book is cheap and looks mildly interesting, I’ll probably get it. Especially if it it’s pretty.

So, every so often, I have to go through my bookshelves (and book-drifts—you know, like a snow-drift, but it’s books?) and purge. Otherwise, I’d end up on an episode of Hoarders. 

Today was one of these days.

Farewell to the Following Books

I’ll try to trade them to my local bookstore,and if they don’t want them (pretty sure they won’t want most of these, from past experience) they’ll get donated.

A Homesteader’s Portfolio 

IMG_1429

I got this book a long time ago when I was researching a novel. I’m very unlikely to read it again (it wasn’t terribly entertaining, sorry Alice Day Pratt), and it’s just kind of been taking up shelf space. Farewell!

100 Words Every Word Lover Should Know

IMG_1430

Flipping through this book, I couldn’t find a single word I didn’t already know. Besides, who’s going to read a list of words? Not me. Not when I’ve got a massive TBR of quality books waiting for me. Adios! 

Don’t Know Much About History

IMG_1431

I genuinely enjoyed this book, but it’s really not one I’m ever planning to read again, and I have so many random history books. Since I’m not going to reread it or use it for reference, I’m going to have to very reluctantly say goodbye. I might actually keep it I miss it already. Au revoir!

(See, I can’t even bring myself to say adieu. I’m probably going to keep this book, guys. Sorry. I tried.)

All About Roses

IMG_1432

Oh, my poor rose bushes! It’s a good thing you’re ancient and hardier than heck, because otherwise you’d be dead. You’re so neglected. I love gardening, but I have too many hobbies I love more. Something has to slip. So, I can’t have two rose books. I just can’t. I can’t mislead people into thinking I’m some kind of gardener. Since the other one is a gorgeous book in its own right with stunning, glossy photographs, this one has to go. Farewell!

The Incredible Journey

IMG_1437

This was one of my favourite movies as a child, so when I came across the book (for free!) a couple years ago, I picked it up. I know I’m never going to read it. Even at the time, I knew I was never going to read it. So, Adios!

A Psychiatric Nursing Textbook???

IMG_1433

I cannot explain to you why I am in possession of this book. I’m not a psychiatric nurse, I am not currently going to school to be a psychiatric nurse, and at no time in the past have I ever gone to school to be a psychiatric nurse. (I did take psych classes, but not with this textbook!) Plus, it’s horrendously out of date. (1989!) It is definitely beyond time for this book to go. Adieu! 

Books That Narrowly Escaped…This Time

500 Handmade Books

IMG_1434

It was clearance. That’s really all I have to say. (There was no volume 1 available.) It’s fun to flip through. But I know I won’t keep it forever.

Brief Lives

IMG_1435

I thought maybe it was about people who died young. Turns out, it’s a bunch of short biographies. I keep trying to get rid of it, but it’s just kind of a cool old book.

And Finally…

My brother Jack has been looking around for a copy of Old Yeller. I had one on my bookshelf. As beloved by me as this book is, I felt like I should give it to someone who needed it more.

IMG_1439.JPG

Resolute, I took the book from the shelf, said my farewells, and went to find Jack. Proudly, I presented the book to him, the book that still said “Chloe Yvon Westphal, 9 years old” in the front cover. I waited for the outpouring of gratitude.

Oh. Ok.

–Jack, pouring out his gratitude.

Kinda want my book back now.  Oh well.

Real quick while we’re talking about Old Yeller: at least three times in my life so far I have been in this situation where I’m in a bookstore and the employee is trying to help someone find Old Yeller, but neither customer nor employee can remember the author’s name. I, the girl who usually avoids raising my voice in public/talking to people at all, called out, “GIPSON.” I don’t know why I get in this very specific scenario so often, and only with this book, but it keeps happening. It’s like a recurring dream but it’s real life. So there you go. Reason #783 why my life is weird.

 

How strict are you about getting rid of books? 

Signature Fonts

21 thoughts on “Getting Rid of Books (*Collective Gasp*)

  1. Ahhhh it was so hard for me…I still have my childhood books (Nancy drew, the hardy boys, boxcar children, babysitters club!) In hopes that my girls will want to read them! I have invested in a Nook…but the old fashion one that still is supposed to “look” like book pages…its def not the same…but it is the only way I can continue to keep my joy of reading close by…it was either that or carry a bag full of books BC I never know what I’m going to be in the mood to read . loved reading your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s good to save books for your girls; my mother saved some of her childhood books for me and I was always so grateful she did! I had a Nook for a long time and I was pretty happy with it! Definitely more portable. Thank you so much!

      Like

  2. Awesome post! I find it really hard getting rid of books as well. But sadly, I am often forced to do it. Over the last few years I have moved a lot and books take up a lot of space! I often take advantage of being able to rent books for my literature classes, even though I would like to keep most of what I read. I also tried using a kindle, but I can’t say that I like it! Don’t even know why, it just isn’t the same. I am already dreading the end of the semester when I will have to pack up my room and give away many books, I will probably end up keeping way too many!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel you. I’ve never gotten rid of my books because I don’t buy a lot of them, I just borrow books from the library (makes sense for me financially :P). But I did buy a few because I could not bear the thought of never seeing them again. Lent some to my friends and never saw the books again! *sigh* Well we’re not friends anymore!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m with you on the money thing. I almost always check out a book from the library first, then buy it if I loved it. But if it’s super cheap or free, I’ll take a chance on it. I am so nervous about lending books to people. I’ve never not gotten a book back, but I’ve gotten them back in horrendous condition many a time. It’s physically painful.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve gotten to a point where only my brother, Keegan, is allowed to borrow my books (because I can keep an eye on how he’s treating it). Because so many of my friends love books, but they don’t /respect/ books. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. lol, I have a hard time parting with books, especially because the libraries up here are more likely to throw away books if you donate them than keep them. Thus some very stuffed bookshelves throughout my very tiny house.
    Problem is, I re-read my favorites often because I read very fast, so I can’t get rid of them. And the ones I got from my friend Sam as she was published are all signed, but not worth much, so I just can’t part with them.

    LOL, the list of excuses goes on LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, like I said, you can’t have too many books as long as you love them all! I have way more books than I’ve got room for. (I’m a re-reader, too.) Just recently though, I’ve decided only to keep books I love. Still have a lot of books (because I love a lot of books!) but it does cut down on the number a little bit.

      Like

  5. this was so awesome! sounds like me when i am trying to get rid of books, to be honest. and your brothers “outpouring gratitude” was just classic. haha and i really like that part about “Old Yeller”. i have had kind of the same thing happen to me in that everytime i go to a book sale or book give away or anywhere where you can get books besides a library or a bookstore….i ALWAYS find one of Jodi Picoult’s novels without actually looking for one. Always. i cannot think of a time where i haven’t. I love meeting people who love books, by the way! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

