“Fight It, Take the Pain, Ignite It.”

In which you are such beautiful people, and because of that I have an important message I wanted to share with you. 


Today all I want to do is to share something that’s really inspirational and awesome. It kinda fits into this blog because it’s basically poetry, and poetry is literature, therefore…yes.

So I absolutely love Twenty Øne Piløts. I was introduced by my brother, and I didn’t expect to like them because they’re so popular (my logic is flawed, I know), but as soon as I heard some of the lyrics, I was sold. I am not ashamed to admit that some of their songs have made me cry. These lyrics are important.

But there is one part in “Holding Onto You” that I think is just really, especially important. So I’m going to talk about that for a bit today because I know I’m not the only one who is/has been at war with my mind.

Remember the moment
You know exactly where you’re going,
‘Cause the next moment,
Before you know it, time is slowing
And it’s frozen still,
And the window sill looks really nice, right?
You think twice about your life,
It probably happens at night,
Right?

So first this part. Basically, it’s talking about thinking about ending your life. I just love the “right?” though, because it gives you the feeling that someone else understands. It just makes it very personal, as though you are being addressed directly.

But then:

Fight it,
Take the pain, ignite it,
Tie a noose around your mind
Loose enough to breathe fine and tie it
To a tree. Tell it, “You belong to me.
This ain’t a noose, this is a leash.
And I have news for you: you must obey me.”

There is nothing I don’t love about this. Because after expressing understanding for these feelings, he makes it clear that you need to fight them. You’re not a bad person for having them, but you have to do something about them. Notice the use of the imperative. You need to stay in control of your mind and make sure it knows who’s boss, especially when it’s not thinking in a healthy or stable way.

(Side note though, human brains are so complicated and beautiful, but so easily messed up. Like, they have this survival instinct hard-wired in, but sometimes they start telling us that we should probably die instead. Animals don’t have this problem. Sometimes I feel like squirrels do when they run out in front of my car, but technically they don’t either.)

If you haven’t heard this song, you need to go find it and listen to it, because reading the lyrics is one thing, but hearing Tyler Joseph yell them at you is another.

And also you should totally just listen to Twenty Øne Piløts. Their music is so unique and has something for everyone and their lyrics are basically poetry.

f9a9a9f09342666d2bd843479714372a

That’s what I wanted to share today. (Technically, it was analysis.) You guys are all such beautiful people. Please make sure your brain knows who’s boss. ❤

Have a lovely day.

Signature Fonts

18 thoughts on ““Fight It, Take the Pain, Ignite It.”

      1. Sometimes that is the best you can do. I know this is a weird thing to say since you barely know me, but my email is always open if you need someone to listen. Sometimes just hearing someone say that helps me. Keep being the strong person you are. 🙂

        Like

  1. No offense, but I probably won’t actually hunt down the mp3, etc. (I’m lazy). But thank you so much for sharing this. Lyrics sometimes need to stand apart from their musical genres to help push through the message in the poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love twenty one pilots. Their lyrics actually mean something, rather than every single song on the charts that sings about a 5 year olds heartbreak. I really like the lyrics you’ve picked out here, they really do require a concentrated ear. I also happen to be seeing them later on this year which is super exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoy your mix of entertaining narrative with seriously deep and inspirational optimism….such an important perspective on a facet of the human condition that many consider taboo–thus, not to be discussed…which simply compounds the complexities of finding ways to hang on when you don’t know how that is possible…but, you are looking for answers…because life beckons….it urges us to survive…thank you for sharing and caring 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooh, thanks for the recommendation, I’m always on the lookout for new music! Going to have a listen now 🙂 And that’s a really interesting observation about humans being the only species that get their survival wires crossed. It’s quite scary isn’t it! But thought-provoking. Thanks for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hope you enjoy! Yeah I was watching an episode of Brain Games last week about survival and it occurred to me that our remarkable, complicated brains can help us to survive, but they can also do the opposite. The reason is, of course, that while animals are driven solely by instinct, humans aren’t. We have the ability to override instinct. Including survival instinct. And yes, it is quite scary! Thank you for commenting.

      Like

      1. I was surprised to find that I liked it, as it’s completely different from anything I would usually listen to! Usually I steer clear of rap because it kind of crowds my head too much but I was pleasantly surprised. And yes the lyrics are so beautiful! I also love the melody of the chorus. I have a feeling this is going to stuck in my head haha. Thanks so much for widening my musical horizons!

        Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

